• The Stubborn Lawyer

  • Six Legal Thriller Short Stories
  • By: Dan Decker
  • Narrated by: Eric G. Dove
  • Length: 3 hrs and 18 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.95

Buy for $14.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Six Mitch Turner legal thriller short stories in one book!

Meet Mitch Turner, the fast-talking criminal defense attorney who takes risks others do not! If you like legal thrillers, these short stories are for you. Fans of John Grisham and Scott Turrow will enjoy these stories. 

"The Mugger"

Criminal defense attorney Mitch Turner has just left the courthouse after a long day when he hears a commotion coming from a nearby alley. He follows it and sees a woman getting mugged. He immediately heads down the alley to see what he can do to defuse the situation. The woman is cooperating, giving everything to the mugger except for her wedding ring. The thief is unsatisfied and demands the ring while escalating his threats. Just when Mitch Turner is about to make a move, the situation changes completely and he is back to square one. 

“The Hostage Negotiator”

Criminal defense attorney Mitch Turner is sitting at his desk working on a pressing deadline when a man walks in and points a gun at him, saying he needs a lawyer. Mitch tells the man he doesn’t work under the gun, and the man becomes more threatening. Mitch starts prodding to figure out what could have brought the man to such a low point, and just when Mitch thinks he has a handle on the situation, the police show up. Thinking fast, Mitch starts a negotiation between his new client and the police officer, trying to come up with a solution to deescalate the situation so he can get back to working on his fast-approaching deadline. 

“The Prosecution’s Witness”

It comes down to the trial. Everything criminal defense attorney Mitch Turner has done to resolve the murder charge against his client has failed, so now he must fight it out in court. He has no viable alternative suspect. All evidence points to his client. The courtroom is in shock when Mitch declines to question the prosecution’s expert witness, frustrating his own client who wants Mitch to fight tooth and nail. The prosecution calls its next witness. Mitch gears up for his cross-examination. 

Everything hinges on this. 

“The Ghost Suspect”

Mitch Turner’s client is going to jail for murder. It is now just a matter of negotiating a plea bargain, something his client refuses to do. As a final request for his client, he agrees to interview one last potential witness. The moment he steps into the witness’s home, he begins to suspect that the man is insane. Then the witness claims that a ghost murdered the victim. Going against his better judgment, Mitch Turner investigates the only real-world possibility, thinking it will go nowhere but knowing he must first satisfy his client before they can work on a plea bargain. 

“The Silent Witness”

One man refuses to testify. 

The witness assured Mitch Turner he knew the truth about that night but he clammed up when Mitch got him on the stand. Mitch must figure out how to get the truth out of him, otherwise Mitch’s client will go to prison for a long time. 

Mitch Turner must find a way to get the truth. 

Can he convince the witness to testify? 

“For Justice”

A grizzly murder. 

Mitch Turner’s client has been charged with murdering the next-door neighbor of his girlfriend. There is little physical evidence against him. 

Two witnesses testify against the accused.

©2020 Dan Decker (P)2022 Dan Decker

What listeners say about The Stubborn Lawyer

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.