1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Summer We Lost Her  By  cover art

The Summer We Lost Her

By: Tish Cohen
Narrated by: Emily Lawrence,George Newbern
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Jodi Picoult and Anna Quindlen, comes an “astonishingly profound...exquisitely written drama” (Caroline Leavitt, New York Times best-selling author of Pictures of You) about a husband and a wife, a missing child, and the complicated family secrets that can derail even the best of marriages.

It’s been a busy - and expensive - few years for Matt and Elise Sorenson and their young daughter, Gracie, whom they affectionately call Little Green. Matt, a Manhattan lawyer, has just been offered a partnership, and Elise’s equestrian ambitions as a competitive dressage rider may finally vault her into the Olympics. But her long absences from home and endless hours of training have strained their relationships nearly to the breaking point. 

Now, they’re up in the Adirondacks, preparing to sell the valuable lakefront cabin that’s been in Matt’s family for generations. Both he and Elise agree it’s time to let it go. But as they navigate the memories the cabin holds - and come face-to-face with Matt’s teenage crush, now an unnervingly attractive single mother living right next door - Gracie disappears without a trace. 

Faced with the possibility they’ll never see their daughter again, Elise and Matt struggle to come to terms with what their future may bring. The fate of the family property, the history of this not-so-tiny town, and the limits of Matt and Elise’s love for each other are inextricably bound up with Gracie’s disappearance. Everything for the Sorenson family is about to change - the messy tangle of their past, the harrowing truth of their present, and whether or not their love will survive a parent’s worst nightmare.

©2019 Tish Cohen (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Summer We Lost Her

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t bother unless you are bored.

I downloaded this primarily because you don’t normally see books that hinge around dressage. It really wasn’t worth it. The dressage part was annoying (no one flies a horse from Wellington up the east coast to NY), the main characters were shallow and, frankly, stupid, and the plot predictable. A waste of a credit.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story

I enjoyed the story but didn’t care for the female narrator. I would recommend other than that.