• The Three Dahlias

  • The Dahlia Lively, Book 1
  • By: Katy Watson
  • Narrated by: Jilly Bond
  • Length: 10 hrs and 50 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

It wouldn't be a country house weekend without a little murder....

Three rival actresses team up to solve a murder at the stately home of Lettice Davenport, the author whose sleuthing creation of the 1930s, Dahlia Lively, had made each of them famous to a new generation. A contemporary mystery with a Golden Age feel, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and Jessica Fellowes—and Janice Hallett and Richard Osman, of course!

In attendance at Aldermere: the VIP fans, staying at house; the fan club president turned convention organiser; the team behind the newest movie adaptation of Davenport's books; the Davenport family themselves and the three actresses famous for portraying Dahlia Lively through the decades.

There is national treasure Rosalind King, from the original movies, who's feeling sensitive that she's past her prime, TV Dahlia for 13 seasons, Caro Hooper, who believes she really IS Dahlia Lively and ex-child star Posy Starling, fresh out of the fame wilderness (and rehab) to take on the Dahlia mantle for the new movie—but feeling outclassed by her predecessors.

Each actress has her own interpretation of the character and her own secrets to hide—but this English summer weekend, they will have to put aside their differences as the crimes at Aldermere turn anything but cosy.  

When fictional death turns into real bodies, can the three Dahlias find the answers to the murders among the fans, the film crew and the family—or even in Lettice's books themselves?

©2022 Katy Watson (P)2022 Hachette Audio UK

Critic Reviews

"An absolute treat of a read with all the ingredients of a vintage murder mystery: a country house, mysterious dead bodies and three actresses all keen to catch the killer. Perfect weekend reading!" (Janice Hallett, author of The Appeal)

"A wonderful celebration of Golden Age crime...a read you can sink into, just like the perfect country house weekend. You will definitely love Dahlia in all her guises by the end." (S.J. Bennett, author ofThe Windsor Knot)

"I loved it - witty, engaging and hugely enjoyable. A must for fans of classic mysteries." (Frances Brody)

What listeners say about The Three Dahlias

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cozy-Lite

I grew up reading the real cozies - Agatha Christie, Margery Allingham, Ngaio Marsh, et al - so it's disappointing to read what passes for cozies now. That said, The Three Dahlias plot is good and the ending is a bit of a bonus. The narrator, Jilly Bond, is great and puts more life in the characters than Katy Watson did. I'll skip the sequel.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-26-22

EXACTLY what I wanted to read

This book was just what I was hoping for! Three actresses from three generations playing a famous lady detective, a weekend in a manor home in the country, a fascinating cast of suspects, an intricate plot, genuinely funny and clever writing, coziness and glamour… the premise is PITCH PERFECT and the story absolutely delivers. I was actually sad when it ended and I can’t wait for the next one!

.