1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The events at a school fundraiser night get quickly out of hand, and the fallout leads to devastating results for a group of four couples....

Question: How long does it take to tear someone's life apart?

Answer: Sometimes just one night.

From the outside the parents of the kindergarten class at Darley Heights primary school seem to have it all. Living in the wealthy Sydney suburbs, it's a community where everyone knows each other - and secrets don't stay secret for long.

The big date in the calendar is the school's annual fundraising trivia night, but when the evening gets raucously out of hand, talk turns to partner-swapping. Initially scandalised, it's not long before a group of parents make a reckless one-night-only pact.

But in the harsh light of day, those involved must face the fallout of their behaviour. As they begin to navigate the shady aftermath of their wild night, the truth threatens to rip their perfect lives apart - and revenge turns fatal.

The Trivia Night is a gripping domestic debut novel full of shocking reveals, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Sally Hepworth.

©2022 Ali Lowe (P)2022 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What listeners say about The Trivia Night

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

so fun!

This book was so fun, not super deep but surprisingly great! The characters were well thought out, as well as the story line. Took a few chapters to get the people straight, so don't give up.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JM
  • 07-14-22

So enjoyable!

I was a bit hesitant to order this book, as it sounded like a rip off of "Big Little Lies" (set in Australia, a trivia night gone awry, a mystery death, group of unlikely friends thrown together), but I'm so glad I gave it a chance! It was a fun, easy listen, and took a few twists and turns that I never expected. I thought the narrators we excellent, especially the one who does the voice of Amanda - she brought so much life to the story and character, and her comedic timing was excellent. I wouldn't necessarily have called this a mystery or a thriller...maybe a dramedy? But I loved it nonetheless. It's a great beach read (or listen)!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everything was cool except…

I really enjoyed this story. I loved Amanda, Zoe, and Victoria’s voices. Alice’s reader (and I do mean reader because there was no true characterization) was not fun. I felt my teeth being set on edge whenever there was an Alice chapter because the reader was truly terrible. She was so flat. Besides her, though, I listened to this over 10 hour story in less than two days. I just couldn’t wait to hear how it would end. I highly recommend it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A psychological study in depravity

An interesting and unusual plot. Could it really happen? Depending on your circle of friends and influence, possibly. Would you give in to the pressure? Possibly! It took a while to put together who was who and who belonged to whom! Some definite curve balls in the story. Some parts are far fetched but can be plausible given the right circumstances. Overall a good study of what our actions can engender. All actions have consequences. Can these consequences be overcome? The story will tell you. Not a mystery; more of a character study of flawed people facing peer pressure and their reactions and consequences.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Merry Widow

I can’t give a full five stars, because Trivia Night isn’t a classic like Pillars of the Earth, or To Kill a Mockingbird. But it’s an excellent, well told story of 5 women and their families, and what happens when they manage to rock their own boats. At first, the dialogue and characters made me think it was going to be a typical, ho hum type of predictable B fiction. While it’s true that I figured out a thing or two, plenty of other events popped up that surprised and delighted me. This book deals with all sorts of social issues, but I won’t be specific in order to
not spill any beans. It was very worth the read and I enthusiastically recommend it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mama
  • mama
  • 03-08-22

Mind numbingly boring rubbish

Narration gets intensely irritating on several voices...so so so dull. Couldn't get more trivial..pun intended......ending predictable....and couldn't wait to get to it!!!!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 08-03-22

Great fun and an easy read

Thoroughly enjoyed this relatable yet outrageous Sydney based school-mum drama. Suspenseful and satisfying. Highly recommend.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Franc
  • Franc
  • 05-31-22

Hard to finish.

I was hoping for some clever social observation but pretty shallow stuff all round. Some nauseating voices and a story that peaks just over half way with a never ending epilogue.Almost like two different authors.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 05-04-22

Almost stopped listening but I’m glad I didn’t…

I’m glad I stuck with it, in the end it was an enjoyable read.
The performance was off putting, the bizarre English/Australian accent was very unpleasant, in my opinion, it would have been much better had an Australian narrated the story.
The story itself was very enjoyable and what started as a slightly confronting storyline ended up being very much a bit of a page turner.
I look forward to reading more from this author.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-21-22

Loved it!!!!!!!

Wonderful light read, great fun characters.Easy listening.Interesting female line up.Great ending.Looking forward to her next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Leis
  • Leis
  • 04-06-22

Started strong but fizzled out, awful narration

The first third of the book which looked at the relationships between that characters and the dynamics at play in school parental social hierarchies was well written and interesting. The fallout from the trivial night started off well when it explored the emotions the characters felt around their decisions but it almost became a different book once the mystery started.

From that point it became predictable, boring and unrealistic- I had to force myself to finish it.

The narration was awful! All the characters sounded like they were straight out of Porpoise Spit, I was waiting for one to exclaim “you’re terrible Murial” I don’t think the characters were written as nasally bogans but that’s how they were portrayed.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Helen Man
  • Helen Man
  • 04-05-22

Not for me

I just couldn’t finish it. I didn’t even get half way I kept saying oh for heavens sake. Too unrealistic for me.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-15-22

Too Boring to Keep Listening

Sadly protagonists shallow and uninteresting. Don't care what happens to them. Therefore didn't complete book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vikki
  • Vikki
  • 03-14-22

My first audible novel

Before buying my first audiobook I always thought that the story was only part of the key to a good novel, the key was going to be in the voices. Victoria’s voice spoiled it for me, very hard to listen to the whiny voice, not anything like I imagined a snobbish well-to-do lady would talk.
Aside from that I really enjoyed it but did guess the ending about 3/4 of the way through.
Regardless, if you can deal with Victoria’s (thankfully she’s not the main character) you should thoroughly enjoy this one

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dean Koorey
  • Dean Koorey
  • 03-11-22

The trivial night?

Relying too heavily on multiple “relaying the story to someone else” povs, this felt very tell-tell-tell. And a lot of build up to much ado about not much. Any twists were fairly predictable and the stakes just never seemed very high. Fairly accurate representation of an affluent Aussie coastal town but clichéd characters kept things from ever shifting gears.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Etta
  • Etta
  • 03-02-22

The best!

Absolutely loved loved loved this and can’t wait for more from Ali Lowe. The best!