• The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

  • A Novel
  • By: H. G. Parry
  • Narrated by: Calum Gittins
  • Length: 18 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (320 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The ultimate book-lover's fantasy, featuring a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world, for fans of The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra's 24-Hour Bookstore, and The Invisible Library.

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can't quite control: He can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob - a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life - hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life's duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world...and for once, it isn't Charley's doing.

There's someone else who shares his powers. It's up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.

©2019 H. G. Parry (P)2019 Hachette Audio

What listeners say about The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    210
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    227
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    184
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Exciting, Heartwarming, and Fun

The idea behind this book was so amazing, just an absolutely wonderful story on its own. I constantly felt like we were nearing the climax even when I was less than halfway through it. I had to keep listening, I just couldn’t help it! I even sped it up to 1.4x just because I was so excited to see what was going to happen. Several fun twists and turns, mind blowing reveals, and a truly heartwarming story of two brothers made it impossible to stop this audiobook. I had so much fun in this world.

And I have to mention the writing, the imagery, every word selected perfectly to fit the situation. Wonderful. The narration was excellent too. Changes in pitch, cadence, and accent were distinct enough to immediately know who was speaking in the moment.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

For Fans of David Copperfield and Everyone Else

This is one of those books that when you finish you want to start ALL OVER AGAIN! I really enjoyed this one for its originality and characterizations. Sadly for me, I never even heard of Uriah Heep (stop gasping!) because I have NEVER read David Copperfield. But don't worry about me, I plan on reading this Dickens' story soon.

I'm sure I would have enjoyed this book so much more if I had been familiar with some of the books/characters mentioned. Looks like my TBR pile is gonna grow even more...

If you're a fan of David Copperfield (and other classics), do yourself a favor and get this one. And if you're like me and haven't read David Copperfield, you should do yourself a favor and get this one.

This gets added to my favorites shelf. I can't wait to give it a second go!

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Gave this 5 hours and gave up

As someone who has read all of Dickens, Austen, and re-reads Sherlock Holmes every few years, this book should have been a joy, but it was a slog. Really interesting except when the two main characters were talking - which is kind of a problem. Too much talk - and way too much "You cannot do this!"

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely fantastic!

I loved this wonderfully original urban fantasy which takes you on a wild ride through the streets of modern day Wellington, New Zealand and the pages and characters of Dickens, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, Oscar Wilde and others as it explores the complex relationship between two brothers and the writer’s obvious love of classic Victorian fiction. At times suspenseful, exciting, intriguing, humorous and moving - if you don’t already have a love for Dickens yourself, you will after listening to this audiobook. The narrator does an exceptionally good job of bringing many of the fictional characters we know to life including Uriah Heep, Sherlock Holmes, Frankenstein and Dorian Gray to name only a few. Well worth your listening time - you won’t be disappointed!!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

The narrator is the real MVP of this story

If it weren't for Calum Gittins, I would not have finished this story. I found the main character (Rob) to be an insufferable bore. The premise was interesting, and the other characters were okay, but the author definitely chose the absolute wrong perspective to tell this story from.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best listen in a while

This book was so good. I think I’m going to have to read some Dickens books.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Needed to be 5 hrs shorter.

This book had great potential, but parts of but were too drawn out. The protagonists at times were winey and became annoying. Overall the storyline line was decent, but needed editing.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best books ever!

This book is a delight from start to finish! The characters are wonderful, and the author fleshes out Dickens in a perfect way. The story has a fabulous collection of characters that you can relate to in a literary and an ordinary slice of life sense, the ending is, of course, happy, and all around the story gives you a great sense of hope

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I may have enjoyed it more...

if I had a better than poor experience with Charles Dickens stories. It was a bit of a struggle to get to the end, but I made it, and I was happy with the ending. There were a few sections that seemed to drag on, and feel repetitive, but I think the biggest flaw in my enjoyment of this book was that I haven't got any background in Dickens.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Monotonously Unmemorable

Listen to this book if you can't sleep. You will be snoring in no time.

1 person found this helpful