• The Unsettling of America

  • Culture & Agriculture
  • By: Wendell Berry
  • Narrated by: Nick Offerman
  • Length: 12 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (357 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Unsettling of America  By  cover art

The Unsettling of America

By: Wendell Berry
Narrated by: Nick Offerman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Since its publication in 1977, The Unsettling of America has been recognized as a classic of American letters. In it, Wendell Berry argues that good farming is a cultural and spiritual discipline. Today’s agribusiness, however, takes farming out of its cultural context and away from families. As a result, we as a nation are more estranged from the land - from the intimate knowledge, love, and care of it.

Sadly, his arguments and observations are more relevant than ever. Although “this book has not had the happy fate of being proved wrong,” Berry writes, there are people working “to make something comely and enduring of our life on this earth.” Wendell Berry is one of those people, writing and working, as ever, with passion, eloquence, and conviction.

©1977 Wendell Berry (P)2020 Recorded Books

What listeners say about The Unsettling of America

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    310
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    270
  • 4 Stars
    33
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    34
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love the material, meh on the performance.

to start with, the material I found riveting timely and much-needed. to the degree that I have now purchased or ordered at least 16 more Wendell Berry publications books on collections. along with Joel salatin Gabe Brown Ray Archuleta and others these are topics readings and subjects with should be a part of any high School in most expecially higher education in agriculture.

As for the performance while extremely clear easy to understand I found the speakers voice at times reminiscent of a twilight zone intro which begins to grate. In particular, his consistent pronunciation of hummus (a spread made from chickpeas) as opposed to hummus (organic material in the soil, the first syllable sounding like -hu- in human rather than huh) extremely grating.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It's finally in Autio and narrated by Rob Swanson

book - Read it
Read the book and save your life.

that's all you need to know

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The legacy is truth

This book is as accurate in its analysis and as cogent in its arguments as it ever was.
The proof is in the news today about world health and our response to pandemic disease.
While I don’t condemn the scientist or university with as much vehemence as the author I do abhor the dishonesty that seems baked in to the culture.
This book should be in everyone’s library who enjoys eating and health.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Relevant, Poignant, Life-changing

This book was written over 40 years ago but is still strikingly relevant in it’s critique of how government policies and social attitudes are contributing to the degradation of our land and bodies. Perhaps more important however is how it paints an incredibly comprehensive and connected picture of the issues of agriculture, ecology, identity, justice, and morality. It invites the reader to consider a paradigm shift wherein all the issues listed above are actually facets of the same issue - how we relate to land.

It’s message is refreshingly non-partisan, or perhaps trans-partisan. In a era where one side is trying to fight climate change and the monopolies of big business and the other side is concerned about the dilapidation of both rural life and the country’s moral compass, Berry’s message brings striking clarity about how these things are actually two sides of the same coin.

Nick Offerman’s performance is excellent and just a little bit comical (in a good way) for fans of Parks and Recreation. Ron would like this book a lot.

Despite the fact that a few of the specific names and institutions Berry mentions indicate the book’s datedness, it’s message is so powerful that this is a book I plan to relisten to every 5 or 10 years.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Set Narration to 1.15x

Very Good Book
Great Author
Narration by Offerman is good @ precisely 1.15x
Start at 1.15x and adjust.
Trust Me

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A classic

Berry in the Unsettling of America was far ahead of the times with his observations and reflections.
Those writing on progressive and regenerative farming technique, permaculture and soil preservation need only look back to his words to find a voice that begged for a change in how we view the world of rural living, producing food, and raising our herds.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Time Well Spent

LOVED this book. Explains many things as to why our nation is experiencing such turmoil. the over abundance of violence and unhappy people in general

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A must read for those who care

I highly recommend this book for anyone interested in learning about sustainable agriculture, human values, and the purpose of life. Nick Offerman’s reading is engaging and enthusiastic.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good

Good book. Very good. They said I need to type 15 words or more. Good good good book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A book to change a nation

Wendel Berry brings a revolution to the farming of today and calls us into a deep dive to look at agriculture and agribusiness.