1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She had the perfect marriage. Until her mother-in-law moved in....

Saffron vowed to love Miles no matter what life threw at them both. But when her mother-in-law moves into their happy family home, Saffron’s shiny life begins to tarnish.

Even as Caprice’s barbed comments turn to something more sinister, Saffron hopes the new nanny’s arrival will shield her from the worst of it. She’s starting to feel paranoid in her own home.

Little does she realise that Caprice longs for a new daughter-in-law – and she’ll do anything to make that happen....

The new gripping domestic thriller from the number one best-selling author, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Louise Candlish. 

©2021 Amanda Robson (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

What listeners say about The Unwelcome Guest

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    77
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    72
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMG!!!!

I have never reviewed a book with a written response, however, I can't help it this time!
This book was AMAZING!!!!
I have listened to ~ 500 psychological thrillers in the last 2- 3 years, and I can honestly say, with a great deal of confidence , and without hesitation, that this was, by far my FAVORITE!!!!!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I couldn’t finish it - a first for me

I was intrigued by the story line and generally I am very forgiving when there is a less than great narrator or a somewhat weak story line. However, I can not even bring myself to finish this miserable book. I hate knowing I wasted my money on it so I kept trying to suffer through it but with 4 1/2 hours left to go I am calling it quits. It is as though it was written for a soap opera. Too many ridiculous events happen one after the other and the drama just is not believable: Mother in law does something dastardly to the daughter in law. Husband doesn’t believe the wife and sides with his mother. Wife slaps husband. Husband begs wife’s forgiveness. There is make-up sex. Nanny makes a play for husband. Mother in law approves. Husband is gullible. Husband and nanny embrace. Mother in law happens to snap a photo of this to show to daughter in law. Daughter in law confronts husband. All of this and a lot more occurs within about a week’s time in the story line—and all within the first couple of hours of listening. Who lives like this?? Nope. Couldn’t waste any more time on this one.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Well Played!

The cast of narrators really helped bring about the depth of the story and more character development. The battle was formidable between Saffron and her mother-in-law. I really liked the ending.

Again all the narrators were excellent!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Book Ever!!

Possible hint of Spoilers - Depending on your personality (and I only say this knowing it’s fiction) - this was as close to perfect as a story I’ve listened to yet! Loved the relationship between Myles and Saffron. Loved what a great mom and wife Saffron was. Loved the realistic loyalty shown in “most” family members. Loved that each time I almost wanted to quit listening due to how horribly Saffron was treated by Clarise, I was rewarded for hanging in there! The narrators were excellent! I would love if someone could make a movie out of this beautifully written story. A very awesome feel good kind of book. I already miss the characters….LOL
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Entertaining, BUT…

Miles was exasperating! Also, some of the narration was annoying, particularly the narrator for Hailey.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring!!!!

I kept waiting on something good to happen based on reviews, but this book was boring. Narrators were great at least.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Pulls You in!

This book not only pulls you in but holds on tight until the very end

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Weak ending

The book started off kinda slow, but then had a great plot twist and I thought it was going to take a turn for the better. However, it was all downhill from there and the ending was lame.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good!

I really enjoyed listening to the perspective of each character. The narrators were great and story very interesting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wickedly fun

A fantastically fun, funny, and dark read. I loved the multiple points of view and the balance and seemingly very good and deliciously evil.