• The Useful Idiot

  • By: John Sweeney
  • Narrated by: John Sweeney
  • Length: 8 hrs and 56 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.49

Buy for $17.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Moscow, 1932. Gareth Jones, a young Welsh reporter, arrives in the Soviet Union excited to see for himself how Josef Stalin is forging a new civilization.

He meets American and British journalists who acclaim Stalin's great experiment-but when Jones witnesses people starving to death in Ukraine, his belief in the Soviet revolution is shattered.

He must decide whether to report the truth or become just another useful idiot, saying only what the Communist secret police allow and smothering the evidence of his own eyes.

In this special kind of hell, anyone could be an informer, and Jones knows his life will be at risk if he is even thought to be defying Stalin. And when the woman he loves falls under the suspicion of the secret police, everything Jones values is in danger.

Can he reveal the terrible truth about the Ukrainian famine to the world, or will he be silenced forever?

The Useful Idiot is the secret history of the first great Soviet lie - wrapped up in an electrifying novel perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Ken Follett, Frederick Forsyth, John le Carre, and Kate Atkinson.

As Vladimir Putin rewrites the Nazi-Soviet pact, and with the horrors of Chernobyl and the Cold War so recent, this thriller of fake news in 1932 is real storytelling of enormous significance.

©2020 John Sweeney (P)2020 Tantor

What listeners say about The Useful Idiot

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a thrilling Spy novel

the describes a little known period of history, the Soviet Union in the '30, using the true story of Garrett Jones a british reporter. Jones tries to warn the world about german soviet cooperation and famine in Soviet Union, but he must fend off the plots of Ceka, the ancestor of KGB, and betrayal of western journalists

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dilly Dally
  • Dilly Dally
  • 05-17-22

The story of a tragedy

Thank you Mr Sweeney for another brilliant piece of writing. Not a easy read, a mix of history and fiction that achieve a kafkaïenne and overwhelming sense of dread but, and sadly, uncannily relatable to present equally terrible events

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ciaran
  • Ciaran
  • 01-01-21

Great book, needs a professional actor to narrate

Great book, terrifying and important story . Needs a professional actor to narrate it.

.