1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.54

Buy for $30.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A compulsive, note-perfect debut for fans of The Virgin Suicides and Picnic at Hanging Rock

'We lost all three girls that summer. Let them slip away like the words of some half-remembered song and when one came back, she wasn't the one we were trying to recall to begin with.'  

Tikka Molloy was 11 and one-sixth years old during the long hot summer of 1992, growing up in an isolated suburb in Australia surrounded by encroaching bushland. That summer, the hottest on record, was when the Van Apfel sisters - Hannah, the beautiful Cordelia and Ruth - mysteriously disappeared during the school's Showstopper concert, held at the outdoor amphitheatre by the river.  

Did they run away? Were they taken?  

While the search for the sisters unites the small community, the mystery of their disappearance has never been solved.  

Now, years later, Tikka has returned home and is beginning to make sense of that strange moment in time. The summer that shaped her.  

The girls that she never forgot.  

Brilliantly observed, spiky, sharp, funny and unexpectedly endearing, The Van Apfel Girls Are Gone is part mystery, part coming-of-age story - with a dark shimmering unexplained absence at its heart.

©2019 Felicity McLean (P)2019 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

What listeners say about The Van Apfel Girls Are Gone

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Martine
  • Martine
  • 06-26-20

A great read

Loved the characters, just hoped there would be an answer at the end. Great story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for None
  • None
  • 06-24-20

Superior in every way beautifully written

I loved this book it was so beautifully written I was captivated and transported to Australia and the lives of the Van Apfel girls. The dialogue was superb and the story telling from the point of view of a teenager was handled so well. I loved the narrator who captured her character so well. There is not dramatic twist to this book and there is a great deal left unsaid but I enjoyed every moment of this wonderful novel.