adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Can the past really come back to haunt you?

Cambridge. Christmas 1922. Posie Parker has cleared a space in her hectic schedule to try to unravel a tragedy in her own family. But Posie’s past is hiding around every turn in the old university town. She finds herself taking on a new case which is positively teeming with ghosts, shadows, and secrets, where nothing is quite what it seems.

In a quest to find out what happened to Dr. William Winter, a brilliant Cambridge doctor who disappeared five years previously, Posie is forced to confront her own painful memories of the Great War. But just how safe is it really to go digging up the past? And will Posie get to spend Christmas this year with anything other than Mr. Minks, the office cat, and a lonely heart for company?

This is a classic golden age of crime mystery which will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey. The Vanishing of Dr Winter is the fourth book in the delightfully classic Posie Parker Mystery Series, although the novel can be enjoyed as a stand-alone story in its own right.

If you love an action-packed historical cozy crime with a feisty protagonist, buy The Vanishing of Dr. Winter now.

©2016 L.B. Hathaway (P)2019 L.B. Hathaway

Featured Article: The Best Cozy Mysteries to Keep You Warm This Holiday Season


Get ready to curl up under some blankets with these cozy mysteries that'll keep you guessing until the last second. ​Here you'll find contemporary and historical cozies, classic whodunits and ingenious heist stories. While varying in tone, plot, and setting, these picks all share a holiday atmosphere. You'll find snowstorms galore, bakeries full of tasty treats, glittering get-togethers, and picturesque English villages decked out in their holiday finest.

What listeners say about The Vanishing of Dr Winter

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    64
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    242
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    205
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

best of the series

I listened to previous books in the series and was about to return them. Then I picked this audio book. Much better than previous, more in depth characters and not so silly of a plot this time.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cotton candy

Enjoyable, cozy, and we’ll written and narrator very perky and friendly.
I will order another in this series.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!!

Really enjoyed this book SO MUCH!!
Just the right amount of everything!
Hurry with another, please 😊

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As Sure As Bread Was Bread This Book Is Superb

As Posie says five times in this book ,.. “as sure as bread is bread”,.. this series just gets better and better..!! More please ...!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Most Enjoyable Read,

This story captured my attention from beginning to end. The storylines are very cohesive and do not disappoint. Posie's wartime remembrances were like reading her personal journal -reliving the bonds of friendship and hardship during and as a result of the war.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Performance From Clare Wille

I loved this book! the story kept me guessing the whole time. Can't wait to see what happens next!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the ending

This is my third Posey Parker audible book and it is just as exciting as the other two. What I LOVE about this writing is there is this one thing that you would never guess that surprises you. That is what is keeping me an avid fan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

compelling book

enjoyed story. very interesting recommend this book and books by LB Hathway. suspenseful sores for everyone

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

irksome

The repetitive use of the expression "sure as bread is bread" is irksome. Please find a thesaurus.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best one so far!

Enjoyed the varied storylines and history lesson. Narrator is perfect! Well done! Can’t wait to read the next in the series.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eleasine
  • eleasine
  • 03-30-21

please check for historical accuracy.

The use of kilo, and 1st class post, plus some more modern language,detract from an enjoyable story. Lazy editing.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Freddie Roberts
  • Freddie Roberts
  • 05-12-22

Next Please

I'm steaming through these, I just love the whole Cozy library and the fact I can have them on my phone is just heaven.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Claire Brewster
  • Claire Brewster
  • 06-17-20

More please!

Loved this series, they're my new favourites. Please can we have the rest of the series now.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for PJD
  • PJD
  • 04-06-20

Next please,

Love the book, series and reader. I so look forward to the next audiobook.
Thank you!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BeatrixBalazar
  • BeatrixBalazar
  • 07-23-21

Another thrilling Parker investigation

Thoroughly enjoyable. Love this series, keeps you engaged and wanting more in the escapades of Rosie Parker.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-15-21

great listen

a great plot, with lots of twists and turns! Realistic and imaginative, great direction and performance.