adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.54

Buy for $18.54

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From renowned British politician Stanley Johnson, an exciting, intelligent thriller about the rise of a mysterious virus and one man's fight to stop a deadly pandemic, perfect for fans of Michael Crichton and Dan Brown. 

How do you stop an invisible killer?  

When a young woman in New York City dies mysteriously after a trip to Brussels, top epidemiologist Lowell Kaplan identifies the cause of death as the Marburg Virus - a fatal strain that has surfaced only once before in history. Determined to trace the source of the disease, Kaplan follows a trail of intrigue from the labs of Germany to the jungles of Central Africa. With danger nipping at his heels and the secrets of the virus' origin kept deliberately under wraps, Kaplan must go to unimaginable lengths to stop a deadly scheme. 

©2020 Stanley Johnson (P)2020 W. F. Howes Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Johnson blends concerns about infectious disease, animal rights, biological warfare and late Cold War politics into an enjoyable adventure.... A well-told tale that should appeal to many." (Library Journal)   

"Mr. Johnson, a former member of the European Parliament and the father of British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson, clearly knows all the drills. The author of 25 earlier works of fiction and nonfiction, he has a lifetime's expertise." (The Wall Street Journal

"There are some novelists who, by instincts or study, understand perfectly the independent components of a thriller. Stanley Johnson is one of them." (Daily Telegraph

What listeners say about The Virus

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trish Charlton
  • Trish Charlton
  • 10-17-20

the narrator RUINED the entire book

I'm not sure what kept me listening, the narrator was so unutterably appalling.
The writing is most certainly a product of it's time and could also do with an easy edit but that narrator - OMG. I increased the speed to 1.5 and then it was almost bearable.
I persevered as I had heard about the book (from the author's authors punt of it on TV) when Covid first came out and I have to say, quite a few interesting twists - not a bad book - just make sure you read it yourself!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pauline A. Hayward
  • Pauline A. Hayward
  • 09-17-20

The virus

Okay Stanley is very knowledgeable but it wasnt great. Slightly bored. Glad to finish it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for kaylee
  • kaylee
  • 03-08-22

Surprisingly good

This was a captivating book and a great listen
It was a good book to have in the background

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana Lednitzky
  • Diana Lednitzky
  • 02-08-21

Exciting, engaging

Loved the story and the places are described in the book. Exciting storyline and twists.