1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Wedding Veil  By  cover art

The Wedding Veil

By: Kristy Woodson Harvey
Narrated by: Shannon McManus,Janet Metzger,Rebekkah Ross,Megan Tusing
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A NATIONAL BESTSELLER

The New York Times bestselling author of Under the Southern Sky and the Peachtree Bluff series brings “her signature wit, charm, and heart” (Woman’s World) to this sweeping new novel following four women across generations, bound by a beautiful wedding veil and a connection to the famous Vanderbilt family.

Four women. One family heirloom. A secret connection that will change their lives—and history as they know it.

Present Day: Julia Baxter’s wedding veil, bequeathed to her great-grandmother by a mysterious woman on a train in the 1930s, has passed through generations of her family as a symbol of a happy marriage. But on the morning of her wedding day, something tells her that even the veil’s good luck isn’t enough to make her marriage last forever. Overwhelmed and panicked, she escapes to the Virgin Islands to clear her head. Meanwhile, her grandmother Babs is also feeling shaken. Still grieving the death of her beloved husband, she decides to move out of the house they once shared and into a retirement community. Though she hopes it’s a new beginning, she does not expect to run into an old flame, dredging up the same complicated emotions she felt a lifetime ago.

1914: Socialite Edith Vanderbilt is struggling to manage the luxurious Biltmore Estate after the untimely death of her cherished husband. With 250 rooms to oversee and an entire village dependent on her family to stay afloat, Edith is determined to uphold the Vanderbilt legacy—and prepare her free-spirited daughter Cornelia to inherit it—in spite of her family’s deteriorating financial situation. But Cornelia has dreams of her own. Asheville, North Carolina has always been her safe haven away from the prying eyes of the press, but as she explores more of the rapidly changing world around her, she’s torn between upholding tradition and pursuing the exciting future that lies beyond Biltmore’s gilded gates.

In the vein of Therese Anne Fowler’s A Well-Behaved Woman and Jennifer Robson’s The Gown, The Wedding Veil brings to vivid life a group of remarkable women forging their own paths—and explores the mystery of a national heirloom lost to time.

©2022 Kristy Woodson Harvey. All rights reserved. (P)2022 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Wedding Veil

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    325
  • 4 Stars
    100
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    337
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    305
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet story

This was a joy to listen to. I know a bit about the back story so I was engaged right way. The contemporary characters were interesting too. Performance was very good and kept me going! Now I need to drive over to Biltmore for another tour!!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing Experience

I warn you! Once you start listening to this, don’t plan on anything else getting done! What a wonderfully written Novel! The narration was great!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Difficulty with one narrator

I really enjoyed the story. It is well written, and sparked the curiosity in me to learn more about the Vanderbilt family. I found the whole storyline very interesting. Bravo, Kristy Woodson Harvey! However, my issue is with casting. I am always driven to distraction whenever I listen to an audiobook that is wholly or partially narrated by Rebekkah Ross. Ms Ross should avoid narrating books about Southern Women, as her accent seems more to be that of a Californian, than a woman raIsed The South. I simply cringe every time I hear her end her “ing” words with the “een” sound. Even when the character speaks for another character in the story. I suppose it is my greatest pet peeve. However, the other narrators weee excellent, and did draw me into the story! I look forward to the next book by this author!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Worth a listen

I was a bit disappointed by this one, not because it wasn’t pretty good, but because I have come to have very high expectations for this author’s books - I have loved most of them. For me, I would have like to have had more of a story from Julia and Barbara’s viewpoints, and I could have done without the focus on the Vanderbilts - I just didn’t find those segments engaging, and it felt like it hopped around a bit too much.

I loved Babs’s storyline, and the vigor with which she was going after a new life for herself, and also keeping Julia propped up.

Nice story, great narrators, but it fell a little flat for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightful

Enchanted story. Great listen. Love the translation from time periods. Look forward to my next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cute story

I liked the history in the piece and the NC landmarks. The family that got the veil was Quintessential

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Uggh

Childish boring predictable
Had potential but alas…poor character development. Grandma and granddaughter solve it all good grief!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Historical fiction romance

Live in NC and it was great to have an historical tie in to the biltmore mansion. Loved all the family characters and story lines. Great narration too. Appropriate for teens to seniors

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent book

I enjoyed everything about this book!! I highly recommend it especially if you have ever visited the Biltmore Estate.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Wedding Veil

Loved this book. Loved how the author entwined the two families together. I couldn’t stop listening.