adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Weight of the Soul is the eighth in the best-selling Psychic Surveys series, that feature plot twists, compelling characters, and a mystery at its dark heart. Perfect for fans of Stephen King, Darcy Coates, CJ Tudor, and James Herbert.

Life may have moved on to new challenges for Ruby Davis, now being a mother to baby Hendrix, but she's back at the helm of Psychic Surveys, her spiritual domestic clearance company, and the cases just keep getting stranger.

A new client, Carrie-Ann Kendall, has suffered an accident at sea, one that - according to her - she shouldn't have survived. Visiting a clairvoyant who is apparently terrified by her presence, only confirms this notion. It is now up to Ruby and the team to find out whether Carrie-Ann has cheated death. If so, what are the consequences, and for how long?

Leon Vasilescu is the clairvoyant, now missing since encountering Carrie-Ann, and whom Psychic Surveys must track down. But in doing so, they will encounter another danger, one that is far more personal to Ruby and her mother Jessica, and could have them facing death too.

Psychic Surveys Series:

  • Psychic Surveys Book One: The Haunting of Highdown Hall
  • Psychic Surveys Book Two: Rise to Me
  • Psychic Surveys Book Three: 44 Gilmore Street
  • Psychic Surveys Book Four: Old Cross Cottage
  • Psychic Surveys Book Five: Descension
  • Psychic Surveys Book Six: Legion
  • Psychic Surveys Book Seven: Promises to Keep
  • Psychic Surveys Book Eight: The Weight of the Soul

Psychic Surveys Companion Novels:

  • Eve: A Psychic Surveys Prequel
  • Blakemort (Corinna's story)
  • Thirteen (Ness's story)
  • Rosamund (Rosamund Davis - Ruby's great-grandmother's story)

This Haunted World Series:

  • This Haunted World Book One: The Venetian
  • This Haunted World Book Two: The Eleventh Floor
  • This Haunted World Book Three: Highgate 

Reach for the Dead Series:

  • Reach for the Dead Book One: Mandy
  • Reach for the Dead Book Two: Cades Home Farm 

Jessamine Series:

  • Jessamine
  • Comraich
  • Carfax House - A Christmas Ghost Story (stand-alone novella)
  • Summer of Grace - A stand-alone psychological thriller
©2021 Shani Struthers (P)2021 Shani Struthers

What listeners say about The Weight of the Soul: A Gripping Supernatural Thriller

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

Shani Struthers doesn't ever leave me disappointed!

This is a family's love story.
Warm and fuzzy conclusion.
The light radiates in this one!

I do miss narration by Sheila Dearden - I like Penny Scott Andrews, but I don't think she's the right tone for Psychic Surveys.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs. Linda Gleave
  • Mrs. Linda Gleave
  • 01-14-22

weight of the soul

I have heard all the psychic surveys stories now, and while this story is as ever excellent....I struggled with the narrator, not sure if it was the delivery or the strong lisp which, as a hearing impaired person I found it difficult to make out the words she was saying

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-27-21

Brilliant

I love these books Psychic Surveys, storyline absolutely fantastic well plotted and great twist. I do have one moan and I don't like to do this as I don't wish to offend Penny Scott Andrews was not good at narrating this her voice did not have the effect needed for this at times sounding childlike, I did miss the talent of Sheila Dearden who previously narratored the rest of the books bringing individuality and life to each character.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karen
  • Karen
  • 11-15-21

Brilliant!

As an avid fan of Shani and particularly the Psychic Survey book series I couldn't wait to start this book. I was not disappointed.

Each book in the series brings new information about one or more of the main characters and it really feels like you're revisiting friends. This book has a gripping storyline that you'll find hard to put down and as you get further into the book you'll be waiting for the next chance to get back to it to find out more. It has twists and turns that keep you guessing and I just can't wait for the next one to see where it takes them and what they get up to next!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ingrid
  • Ingrid
  • 11-10-21

Great story as usual

Another great Psychic Survey story. A shame they changed the reader though. She read well but everyone sounded about 14!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Blondie
  • Blondie
  • 10-25-21

Why change the narrator 🤔

This is the last book in this series and loved them all, but changing the narrator for the last book spoilt it for me, ruby sounded like a 14yo school girl and the character voices were too childlike for me when the voices were already established in the previous books 😒 Sheila Deardon made this series more enjoyable for me.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-07-21

🤔

Really disappointed with the narrator change. Great story but struggled to get into it for that reason

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anne Wilkie
  • Anne Wilkie
  • 10-07-21

Does not disappoint

Shani Struthers does it again. She has continued the story of Ruby Davies and the Psychic Surveys team, following the twists and turns of all their lives and revealing yet more of Ruby’s intriguing family history which puts her and the others in danger. The team also have a puzzling new case to tackle. These characters feel like old friends that you never become tired of. I always look forward to her next story and she does not disappoint. I would recommend this book to all Psychic Surveys fans and would encourage anyone not familiar with her stories to get started on them. A must for anyone who is intrigued by the supernatural or the unseen world.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mama makes
  • Mama makes
  • 10-05-21

Shani Struthers you are amazingly talented!

First off, I’ve read every book in this series, (actually every book written by Shani Struthers) and I’m never disappointed.
Ive always loved James Herbert but in my eyes Shani Struthers has become my number one.
The weight of my soul, has become one of my favourites in the series. Hearing about how Ruby and Cash are handling becoming first time parents and also working around the new baby Hendrix and new house, it’s written so well it almost feels like these are a couple I know. I related to the story in more ways then one and although I’ve read and re read the series il be starting again, again!
Ps Jed as always has to be the best ever character in any book I’ve written, I only wish I had my own Jed! X

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kindle Customer
  • Kindle Customer
  • 10-04-21

Another fine story.

Shani never fails the reader. Her characters are real some loveable some loathsome but all play an important part in the story. I can't imagine what comes next for the team. Perhaps a new member ?....

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for nicola kaye
  • nicola kaye
  • 10-04-21

Another fantastic book

Wow !! A new narrator, and what a fantastic job she did 👏
Shani you have written another fantastic story, I really enjoyed it , didn't want it to end .
thank you xx