adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Instant New York Times and USA Today Best Seller

“Compulsively readable...a gothic thriller laced with arsenic.” (EW)

One of the Most Anticipated Books of 2021: CNN • Newsweek • Vulture • PopSugar • Parade • BuzzFeed • E!Online • TimeOut • Woman's Day • Goodreads • She Reads • Good Housekeeping • CrimeReads • Frolic • Hello! • Mystery and Suspense

January 2021 Indie Next Pick and Number-One LibraryReads Pick 

A delicious twist on a Gothic classic, The Wife Upstairs pairs Southern charm with atmospheric domestic suspense, perfect for fans of B.A. Paris and Megan Miranda.

Meet Jane. Newly arrived to Birmingham, Alabama, Jane is a broke dog-walker in Thornfield Estates - a gated community full of McMansions, shiny SUVs, and bored housewives. The kind of place where no one will notice if Jane lifts the discarded tchotchkes and jewelry off the side tables of her well-heeled clients. Where no one will think to ask if Jane is her real name.

But her luck changes when she meets Eddie Rochester. Recently widowed, Eddie is Thornfield Estates’ most mysterious resident. His wife, Bea, drowned in a boating accident with her best friend, their bodies lost to the deep. Jane can’t help but see an opportunity in Eddie - not only is he rich, brooding, and handsome, he could also offer her the kind of protection she’s always yearned for.

Yet as Jane and Eddie fall for each other, Jane is increasingly haunted by the legend of Bea, an ambitious beauty with a rags-to-riches origin story, who launched a wildly successful Southern lifestyle brand. How can she, plain Jane, ever measure up? And can she win Eddie’s heart before her past - or his - catches up to her?

With delicious suspense, incisive wit, and a fresh, feminist sensibility, The Wife Upstairs flips the script on a timeless tale of forbidden romance, ill-advised attraction, and a wife who just won’t stay buried. In this vivid reimagining of one of literature’s most twisted love triangles, which Mrs. Rochester will get her happy ending? 

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

©2021 Rachel Hawkins (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about The Wife Upstairs

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,138
  • 4 Stars
    757
  • 3 Stars
    355
  • 2 Stars
    85
  • 1 Stars
    44
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,189
  • 4 Stars
    559
  • 3 Stars
    242
  • 2 Stars
    72
  • 1 Stars
    39
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    985
  • 4 Stars
    629
  • 3 Stars
    343
  • 2 Stars
    104
  • 1 Stars
    44

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ugh🤦🏻‍♀️

First off, I am a first time reader of Rachel Hawkins. The rest of her books are not up my alley, since all she seems to write about is demons and such... but. I believe majority’s her stuff is YA because she tried very hard (with all the unnecessary cussing) to make you believe this was and adult novel. The story was flat and not engaging at all! The sophistication of Jane Eyre was lost in the underwhelming story line, and overshadowed with too many unnecessary details! The reader’s performance was not much better, I don’t know if she was meant to sound somber, but she failed miserably... sounding passive aggressive most of the time! Save you credit, big disappointment!

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This is the worst

I almost returned this so many times I don't know why I didn't. Let's start with the narrator. The strange and annoying scoff (giggle, breath, I don't know what to call it) after almost anything the neighborhood ladies say is probably one of the most distracting things I've ever heard. WHY? The book is so far fetched and there's literally not one likable character. Please do yourself a favor and save your credit.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not a Thriller

I was really looking forward to this book. In fact I preordered it. What I have read so not impressive. I read another book called The Wife Upstairs by Frieda McFadden. I really enjoyed it. It’s interesting the more the critics promote a book, the more disappointed I usually am. I think I will go back to my old method of selecting books. If I like the cover and the description; I will read it.


RECOMMENDATION: SKIP IT, YOU CAN’T ALWAYS BELIEVE THE HYPE

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable and unexpected!

I’ve never listened to any of Rachel Hawkins’ other books, but I was given this recommendation on the day it was released, and decided to use a credit! Long story short, it’s a well written and well plotted story. Nothing is quite as it seems, and it’ll keep you hanging on until the very end!

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Finer than FROG hair!

two things I would like to say before my review is it 1 : I saw this in Entertainment Weekly as a recommend and my goodness are there recommends awesome!

number two this book is so engaging that I've literally called and work so that I could stay home and listen to the rest of it.
I killed this and 1 and a half days.

the mystery is super engaging and the fact that I live two hours from where this book takes place and that I knew every single place that they were talking about added an extra thrill.

Agatha Christie would be proud of this lady I'm just so so excited about this book I will probably listen to it again.

a small minor critique of the accents of the voice actors they're more Georgian than Alabama but hey you just had to live here and know that .

10 out of 10 out of 10 out of 10 this is awesome. thank you for a creepy well thought out book.

I even learned something about Smith Lake that I've never heard before just high fives all around. I'm just blown away

13 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty good story, but too many f-words.

I really enjoyed this story, until about 1/4 into it and then came the f-words. I don't mind a few here and there, but there were so many it took away from the interesting story. I found myself cringing and almost quitting the book just because of it. I felt bad that I was actually relived when it was over because I was so irritated by the language. It was excessive and did even flow with the dialogue. It felt forced and actually made the book feel cheap. So sorry for this review, but that's honestly how I feel.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Flat characters

I kept listening in hopes that it would get better....it never did. The characters were very flat, two dimensional. The emotions were so bland and fake, as fake as the southern accents the voice actors used. It hurt my ears every time one of the southern girls spoke. I do not recommend

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fun Ride!

NO SPOILERS! One thing I can count on are great books from Rachel Hawkins. I listened to this in one day, it was that good. I recommend this to anyone that likes domestic or psychological thrillers.

The female narrator’s voice for Jane was a little weird though. It made her sound like a 50 year heavy smoker when she was playing someone only 23 years old.

Kirby Heyborne is one of my favorite narrators so he was excellent although his voice needed to be sped up to 1.5 to sound like his normal self.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Some nice twists

This did have some nice twists and turns to it. I really enjoyed all the characters. Very easy to follow and I always knew who was talking. Nothing life changing or page turning but an enjoyable read.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Reading for a book club and disappointed

First the chapters are mis numbered in the audio. It made it difficult to start and stop. And in reading elsewhere some plot summaries, I wonder if perhaps some parts were missing in this. I think that the frequent use of the F word was not needed. And mentioning Republicans in a negative way had nothing to do with the story.

6 people found this helpful