1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware, a deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller about a group of old friends who plan to reconnect on an African safari vacation but soon learn that their wild pasts have finally caught up with them.

“A wonderfully atmospheric thriller of secrets, lies and betrayals...a heart-stopping roller coaster of a read.” (B.A. Paris, author of Behind Closed Doors)

Four friends. A luxury retreat. It’s going to be murder.

It’s been years since Grace, Felicity, Alice, and Hannah were together. The “Wild Girls”, as they were once called, are no longer so wild. Alice is a teacher. Hannah has a new baby. Grace is a homebody. Only Felicity seems to have retained her former spark.

Then Felicity invites them all on the weekend of a lifetime—a birthday bash in Botswana. It will be a chance to have fun and rekindle their once bomb-proof friendship...and finally put that one horrible night, all those years ago, behind them for good.

But soon after arriving at the luxury safari lodge, a feeling of unease settles over them. There’s no sign of the party that was promised. There’s no phone signal. They are on their own...and things start to go very, very wrong. 

A fresh approach to the classic locked-room mystery, The Wild Girls is sure to appeal to fans of Ruth Ware and Lucy Foley. 

©2022 Phoebe Morgan (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Wild Girls

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfection

This book was engaging and titillating from the very first page.
The story is a typical locked room mystery written in a completely unique way.
Each character is complete, totally developed.
The setup is intriguing and you want to know what awaits these women in Botswana.
The story only gets better as it progresses.
I only wish there had been a little more time for the characters in Botswana, as I found this to be the most interesting and well written part of the story.
You will never figure out the ending.
I have almost 700 titles, all of which are in this genre, and I’ve gotten pretty adept at sussing out who the killer is and why.
I couldn’t figure this one out, the ending shocked me.
I absolutely love when that happens.
Five stars across the board and the performances are all excellent, I particularly enjoyed Stephanie Racine and Olivia Dowd even though they were all phenomenal.
Definitely worth a credit.
Phoebe Morgan truly gets better with every new offering.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story was ok but should be a trigger warning

The story for this book was ok. The narration was excellent. There were two things that stood out to me. First, there should be some sort of warning on the book, the description of sexual assault and hints at child assault can be extremely triggering. Had I known, I would not have listened to the book. Also, the characters visit Botswana and interact with one person the entire time. We receive no description of the person like we do for the other characters. Is this because the author did not want to describe someone from Botswana? Overall these really took away from the book for me.