• The Woman He Loved Before

  • By: Dorothy Koomson
  • Narrated by: Adjoa Andoh
  • Length: 13 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (45 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.80

Buy for $22.80

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From international best-selling author Dorothy Koomson, a gripping, thought-provoking novel that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Emma Donoghue, about a woman hellbent on uncovering the truth about her husband's last marriage and its tragic conclusion. 

Libby has a nice life with a great job, a gorgeous husband and a big home by the sea. But she's becoming more unsure of Jack's feelings for her - and if he is over the mysterious death of Eve, his first wife. When fate intervenes in their relationship, Libby decides to find out all she can about the man she hastily married and the seemingly perfect Eve. Eventually Libby stumbles across some startling truths about Eve. As she begins to unearth more and more devastating secrets, Libby becomes frightened that she too will end up like the first woman Jack loved....

©2013 Dorothy Koomson (P)2013 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"A thought-provoking and moving tale about murder, betrayal and life-shattering secrets." (Kimberla Lawson Roby, New York Times best-selling author on The Ice Cream Girls)

"I truly enjoyed this suspenseful story filled with tragedy, but ending with major triumph. There were so many moments when I held my breath - the scenes were so vivid, I felt as if I was right there experiencing all of their pain and mind control. It was a story that I didn't want to put down, and I completely loved the ending. This is a writer that I will be sure to follow." (Victoria Christopher Murray, on The Ice Cream Girls

"An intricate tragedy of seduction and abuse, the loss of self and family, and the agonizing path to redemption and absolution. I couldn't put it down. Neither will you." (Antoinette Van Heugten, author of Saving Max on The Ice Cream Girls

What listeners say about The Woman He Loved Before

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ingrossing!

After reading the other book by this author that was new to me I immediatly looked for more here on Audible and found this book. I loved it as much as the other - I like that this auther chooses not to make things easy for her characters and just in life - things don't always end happy. Again, it has some hard subject matter and anyone adverse to drugs, violence, and just plain harsh living might not like it all that much - I however LOVED IT as much as the first one - sad Audible doesn't have all her books on here.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FIRST BOOK

This is the first book I’ve EVER wanted to go to the last chapter before I’ve finished it. I can’t stand the tension.!
I’m probably only 1/3 way through.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book!

I loved how she tied all of the characters together and she allowed the characters to save each other.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My new fave author and narrator

Wow! This is my first book by Dorothy Koomson and now I'm going to read them all. I found the book because of the narrator...did I mention "wow" yet? The book is romantic, a bit spicy, smart and a tad scary but not too much of any of those characteristics.

The author keeps the interest without going overboard with the storyline.

Excellent!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Dark turn

This book took a dark turn that I did not expect but for that I loved it a little bit more. But I don't think I could read it again because of that also.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A New Love Story: Chapter One

Would you listen to The Woman He Loved Before again? Why?

No, no need to because the book was so well written, I will always remember it.

What did you like best about this story?

Jack and Libby were able to finally bond.

Have you listened to any of Adjoa Andoh’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Yes. And each book has been powerful narrated. Adjoa Andoh is AWESOME with an incredible voice. Maybe John Grisham should have hired her vs. the fool he used for Gray Mountain. I love Grisham, but could not download (yet) Gray Mountain because I cannot tolerate the voice of the narrator. :(

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Where do I start?
Yes, Jack's entire life and evolution; the diaries; Libby, Jack's mother strength and class, and wicked Hector / Ceasar.

Any additional comments?

By FAR... Incredibly awesome. I've listened to (and read) many books this year; the best ones by far were "I Wonder as I Wander" (Langston Hughes) and this one. Takes a great mind to develop and display such a moving and well written book. It was great!