1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Woman Outside My Door  By  cover art

The Woman Outside My Door

By: Rachel Ryan
Narrated by: Alana Kerr Collins
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Expect a few chills to run down your spine as you work your way through this sharp debut” (CrimeReads) about a young mother who can’t shake the feeling that her son’s imaginary friend is putting him in very real danger - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Mary Kubica.

All children have imaginary friends, Georgina tells herself. It’s perfectly normal, and they all grow out of it in the end. But when her seven-year-old son, Cody, tells her about New Granny, the friend he’s met in the park, Georgina is instantly suspicious. Something - call it maternal instinct - tells her he isn’t making it up.

Still, maybe Georgina is losing her mind. It wouldn’t be the first time, after all. And with her own mother’s recent death leaving her feeling bereft and overwhelmed as a busy working mom, it’s no wonder she’s feeling paranoid that Cody has invented a “New Granny” to replace his beloved grandmother. Her husband assures Georgina that it’s just a game, the product of their son’s overactive imagination.

But what if Cody’s imaginary friend isn’t so imaginary after all? 

“Packed with jaw-dropping moments, The Woman Outside My Door is a twisty thriller with hidden depths” (Robyn Harding, internationally best-selling author of The Party) that will keep you guessing until the shocking last minute.

©2021 Caelainn Bradley. All rights reserved (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Woman Outside My Door

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    58
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    50
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful read

This book was really good.... I couldn't put the book down I wanted to read read it

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IT REALLY PULLS YOU IN! DON'T MISS OUT!

Wow! I was expecting something much more sinister with some possible supernatural mixed in but there was nothing of the sort. It was still a great read and kept me wondering more times than not, who would do the things that were happening and why? The ending was so breathtaking. I didn't even realize I was holding my breath as I read and listened along but I found myself doing that a few times. It was that good!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

worth the read

For a shorter book, some sections felt drawn out. Sort of like when students overly describe things to meet a word minimum in a paper assignment. Still, I give a solid 4 stars for good flow, description, plausible twists, and dialogue. The ending was unexpected but not hugely wowing.
This author has definite promise in this genre. Hopefully, the complexity of story building will improve with time.
As for narration, sigh, I give her a reluctant 4 stars for the believable variations on the characters. Perhaps I’m just not accustom to the Irish brogue, but this narrator did an annoying up and down thing at the end of each sentence that drove me nuts. I’m just glad it was a shorter read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LT
  • 11-08-22

A very long build-up with a very short ending

This book was well written and suspenseful. But at the end it just wrapped up so quickly it almost felt like the author didn't know how to end the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great thrilling mystery..

Excellent story. Suspense builds and the mystery continues. Listening to this story, you will think you figured out what is happening.... BUT the ending is a shocking surprise.
Excellent narrator
Excellent author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Holy cow!!

What a suspenseful ride! This was incredible. You won’t figure it out early and the ending will bring a rush of emotions. I will definitely check out more by Rachel Ryan.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good, quick listen

The story was interesting and had enough twists to engage your mind without being ridiculous over the top. I thought I had figured it out a few times throughout but was constantly wrong. I love when I can't figure it out, and not just because there are 87 unnecessary story times thrown in you can't remember them all. Over all well done.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, kept Mr guessing!

I thought I had this story figured out by chapter 4, but I was WAY off!