adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From “a bright new voice in psychological thrillers” (Erin Kelly, USA Today best-selling author of He Said/She Said), The Woman Outside My Door is a thrilling, addictive audiobook about a young mother who can’t shake the feeling that her son’s “imaginary” friend is putting him in very real danger - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Mary Kubica.

All children have imaginary friends, Georgina tells herself. It’s perfectly normal, and they all grow out of it in the end. But when her seven-year-old son, Cody, tells her about New Granny, the friend he’s met in the park, Georgina is instantly suspicious. Something - call it maternal instinct - tells her he isn’t making it up.

But maybe Georgina is losing her mind. It wouldn’t be the first time, after all. And with her own mother’s recent death leaving her bereft and trying to cope with life as a busy working mom, it’s no wonder she’s feeling paranoid that Cody has invented a “New Granny” to replace his beloved grandmother.

Her husband, Bren, becomes the voice of reason, assuring Georgina that it’s just a game, the product of their son’s overactive imagination. But what if Cody’s imaginary friend is not so imaginary after all?  

“Packed with jaw-dropping moments, The Woman Outside My Door is a twisty thriller with hidden depths” (Robyn Harding, internationally best-selling author of The Party) that will keep you guessing until the shocking last moment. 

©2021 Caelainn Bradley. All rights reserved (P)2021 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about The Woman Outside My Door

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful read

This book was really good.... I couldn't put the book down I wanted to read read it

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

worth the read

For a shorter book, some sections felt drawn out. Sort of like when students overly describe things to meet a word minimum in a paper assignment. Still, I give a solid 4 stars for good flow, description, plausible twists, and dialogue. The ending was unexpected but not hugely wowing.
This author has definite promise in this genre. Hopefully, the complexity of story building will improve with time.
As for narration, sigh, I give her a reluctant 4 stars for the believable variations on the characters. Perhaps I’m just not accustom to the Irish brogue, but this narrator did an annoying up and down thing at the end of each sentence that drove me nuts. I’m just glad it was a shorter read.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

IT REALLY PULLS YOU IN! DON'T MISS OUT!

Wow! I was expecting something much more sinister with some possible supernatural mixed in but there was nothing of the sort. It was still a great read and kept me wondering more times than not, who would do the things that were happening and why? The ending was so breathtaking. I didn't even realize I was holding my breath as I read and listened along but I found myself doing that a few times. It was that good!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story, kept Mr guessing!

I thought I had this story figured out by chapter 4, but I was WAY off!