adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Two strangers meet on the pier. Only one walks away....

Screenwriter Caroline Byrne is desperate to know why her daughter, Jessica, died, murdered in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend’s in Somerset.

When Caroline discovers the messages Jessica had been sending a boy named Michael, she realises it’s because of him. Because he failed to meet her that day.

He’s the reason why her daughter is dead.

And so she makes a choice. He’s the one who’s going to pay.

That is her promise. Her price.

Set between Essex, Kent and Australia, The Woman on the Pier is a dark suspense thriller brimming with secrets and lies seeping across three generations - a must-have for fans of Lucy Foley and Rosamund Lupton.

©2021 B P Walter (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"As much a thriller as a chilling exploration of grief, The Woman on the Pier is one of B P Walter’s finest—and most shocking—novels yet." (A. J. Gnuse, author of Girl in the Walls

"An unflinching, visceral and eloquently written dissection of a mother’s grief and her journey to get what she perceives as justice." (R. J. Parker, author of The Good Neighbour

What listeners say about The Woman on the Pier

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book Lover
  • Book Lover
  • 11-28-21

Entertaining but missing something

This is an enjoyable book with some suspense and intrigue. But it’s difficult not to compare it to the dinner guest and version of the truth and it is not as good.

The book is slightly too long and has some quite big plot hours and annoyances within the script. But it is still enjoyable with an ending that didn’t disappoint.

I couldn’t connect with the story or characters.

It is worth a credit and it’s only by comparison to the other books that made me feel something was missing from this book that is in the others.
Overall I would recommend- but I would reccommend the other books by the author much more.