1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Woman on the Pier  By  cover art

The Woman on the Pier

By: B P Walter
Narrated by: Stephanie Racine,Luke Francis
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $14.18

Buy for $14.18

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Two strangers meet on the pier. Only one walks away....

Screenwriter Caroline Byrne is desperate to know why her daughter, Jessica, died, murdered in Stratford when she was supposed to be at a friend’s in Somerset.

When Caroline discovers the messages Jessica had been sending a boy named Michael, she realises it’s because of him. Because he failed to meet her that day.

He’s the reason why her daughter is dead.

And so she makes a choice. He’s the one who’s going to pay.

That is her promise. Her price.

Set between Essex, Kent and Australia, The Woman on the Pier is a dark suspense thriller brimming with secrets and lies seeping across three generations - a must-have for fans of Lucy Foley and Rosamund Lupton.

©2021 B P Walter (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers Limited

Critic Reviews

"As much a thriller as a chilling exploration of grief, The Woman on the Pier is one of B P Walter’s finest—and most shocking—novels yet." (A. J. Gnuse, author of Girl in the Walls)

"An unflinching, visceral and eloquently written dissection of a mother’s grief and her journey to get what she perceives as justice." (R. J. Parker, author of The Good Neighbour)

What listeners say about The Woman on the Pier

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Would have been nice to know

I wasn't prepared for this. There's a lot of terrorist talk and so so much child abuse. It's excessive and disturbing. Gets very weird when Caroline keeps discussing the bodies and attractiveness of 16 year old boys.

The only characters that weren't awful human beings were the kids. Adults had so much drugs, affairs, sexually abusing kids. It was one of the most disturbing listens ever.

Then they just end the book. Like they just decided let's end right now. Still a few unresolved parts.

1 person found this helpful