• They Drown Our Daughters

  • By: Katrina Monroe
  • Narrated by: Mara Wilson
  • Length: 12 hrs and 24 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (13 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.99

Buy for $27.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"The best kind of story—one that will both break your heart and scare the hell out of you."—Jennifer McMahon, New York Times bestselling author of The Children on the Hill 

For fans of Jennifer McMahon and Silvia Moreno-Garcia comes a haunting and atmospheric new novel from Katrina Monroe. 

If you can hear the call of the water, 

It's already far too late. 

They say Cape Disappointment is haunted. That's why tourists used to flock there in droves. They'd visit the rocky shoreline under the old lighthouse's watchful eye and fish shells from the water as they pretended to spot dark shapes in the surf. Now the tourists are long gone, and when Meredith Strand and her young daughter return to Meredith's childhood home after an acrimonious split from her wife, the Cape seems more haunted by regret than any malevolent force. 

But her mother, suffering from early stages of Alzheimer's, is convinced the ghost stories are real. Not only is there something in the water, but it's watching them. Waiting for them. Reaching out to Meredith's daughter the way it has to every woman in their line for generations—and if Meredith isn't careful, all three women, bound by blood and heartbreak, will be lost one by one to the ocean's mournful call. 

Part modern gothic, part ghost story, They Drown Our Daughters explores the depths of motherhood, identity, and the lengths a woman will go to hold on to both.

©2022 Katrina Monroe (P)2022 Recorded Books
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: LGBTQ+

What listeners say about They Drown Our Daughters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Spoilers within: very good book, but felt familiar

They Drown Our Daughters is a solid book with a few decent twists in it. I loved the characters; Meredith felt realistic and relatable, Alice was a good kid, Art is everyone's favorite uncle. The story was compelling as well, I loved the exploration of history we got in the novel, it felt fleshed out and lived in. The narration is excellent too, Mara Wilson knocked it out of the park.

One thing kept nagging at me throughout the book though, and that's how familiar the story felt to me. It then occurred to me within the last hour of the book why it felt so familiar, it's because the 2002 movie Dark Water had similar themes. Not that it should discourage you from reading this book, it feels more like an homage to the film than anything else, and still packs an emotional punch.