adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the “raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless” (Wendy Walker, USA Today best-selling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve - perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she’s even better at getting away with murder.

Every year, Dr. Clark searches for the worst man at Gorman University - professor, student, or otherwise - and plots his well-deserved demise. Thanks to her meticulous planning, she’s avoided drawing attention to herself…but as she’s preparing for her biggest kill yet, the school starts probing into the growing body count on campus. Determined to keep her enemies close, Dr. Clark insinuates herself into the investigation and charms the woman in charge. Everything’s going according to her master plan…until she loses control with her latest victim, putting her secret life at risk of exposure.

Meanwhile, Gorman student Carly Schiller is just trying to survive her freshman year. Finally free of her emotionally abusive father, all Carly wants is to focus on her studies and fade into the background. Her new roommate has other ideas. Allison Hadley is cool and confident - everything Carly wishes she could be - and the two girls quickly form an intense friendship. So when Allison is sexually assaulted at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with making the attacker pay...and turning her fantasies about revenge into a reality.

“A gorgeously-written ragestorm of a thriller” (Wendy Heard, author of The Kill Club), They Never Learn is a feminist serial killer story that you won’t be able to put down.

©2020 Layne Fargo. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about They Never Learn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    150
  • 4 Stars
    94
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    133
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Well...that was something

I'll say I was looking forward to this one for awhile. Based of the summary it sounded good. Well, I'm not sure what this was. It definitely wasn't what I was expecting. I would have appreciated a little advanced warning about it though. That said, you'll like this if the following are your cup of tea.

All men are awful, apparently, and will assault you. Even the nice ones.

A surprising number of people are cool with someone killing people and want to do it themselves.

Women seem to all be lesbians, Not an issue, just wasn't expecting it or that it happen that many times.

There are absolutely no likeable characters except for Drew and his partner. Definitely not a light read or a heartwarming, uplifting tale.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Got me out of my slump!

I’ve been in an Audible slump! NO MORE! This was amazing! I yelled “what????” In the car at one point. Nothing like rooting for a psycho killer. If you’re a man hater, you’ll really love it!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A PERFECT THRILLER

I loved everything about this book and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the multiple narrator format, a good thriller, and lots of sexy romance. I loved the main character more than I have any main character in a long time. Layne Fargo creates an entire world and her use of language pulls you in, sets the scene, and all but puts the weapon in your hand! I loved the strong women throughout the book and the focus on the lack of consequences for those who commit sexual assault on college campuses and off. We need to do better. Love love loved it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

YESSSSS!!!

A MUST READ/LISTEN. SO GOOD. I adored this novel between the story and the voice actors. A++++

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really entertaining.

I love the way thrillers pull you in and this was no exception. My favorite kind is when I figure out a twist JUST before the author reveals it and Fargo did that at least two or three times in this book. I loved the plot overall and the ways in which Fargo explored the complexities of women’s various relationships to other women within the strictures of patriarchal society. Great listen - the narrators leaned into their characters well.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different

A female version of Dexter. It was not what I expected. It held my interest.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I kinda liked it

The whole plot overall was great! The idea a lot of people could get onboard with. But yeah I still kinda hated the main character.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Absolutely Loved It

The story and the narration drew me in and kept my attention from beginning to end. I loved the concept. I loved how the story switched between the two story lines and tied them together. The only thing I didn't care too much for was the scene of the last murder.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

GET THIS BOOK!

I don’t think I have ever written a review for a book! This completely exceeded my expectations. It’s so easy for these kinds of stories to be predictable but there were twists and turns at every corner! Out of ALL the plot twists, there was only one I guessed before hand. I 100000% recommend this book!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

Definitely worth the read. I didn’t know if I would like it but I instantly got into it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 10-18-21

Strong, emotional thriller!

This book really pulled me in, it got its point across quite bluntly and with lots of emotion. It made me understand, then at points actually feel, the intense anger of the main character.

Definitely a difficult book that will stay with me a long while, I’d recommend reading this when your brain is in a good place!