1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the author of the “raw, ingenious, and utterly fearless” (Wendy Walker, USA Today best-selling author) Temper comes a dynamic psychological thriller about two women who give bad men exactly what they deserve - perfect for fans of Killing Eve and Chelsea Cain.

Scarlett Clark is an exceptional English professor. But she’s even better at getting away with murder.

Every year, Dr. Clark searches for the worst man at Gorman University - professor, student, or otherwise - and plots his well-deserved demise. Thanks to her meticulous planning, she’s avoided drawing attention to herself…but as she’s preparing for her biggest kill yet, the school starts probing into the growing body count on campus. Determined to keep her enemies close, Dr. Clark insinuates herself into the investigation and charms the woman in charge. Everything’s going according to her master plan…until she loses control with her latest victim, putting her secret life at risk of exposure.

Meanwhile, Gorman student Carly Schiller is just trying to survive her freshman year. Finally free of her emotionally abusive father, all Carly wants is to focus on her studies and fade into the background. Her new roommate has other ideas. Allison Hadley is cool and confident - everything Carly wishes she could be - and the two girls quickly form an intense friendship. So when Allison is sexually assaulted at a party, Carly becomes obsessed with making the attacker pay...and turning her fantasies about revenge into a reality.

“A gorgeously-written ragestorm of a thriller” (Wendy Heard, author of The Kill Club), They Never Learn is a feminist serial killer story that you won’t be able to put down.

©2020 Layne Fargo. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: LGBTQ+

Featured Article: Listening Well Is the Best Revenge—The Best Revenge Thriller Audiobooks


No one among us hasn't imagined what it would be like to right a wrong. And even though it's better to turn the other cheek, forgive, and forget, it's still fun to listen to fictional characters enact their revenge. If you need a balm for a slight you’re still seething over, we’ve created this handy list of the best revenge thriller audiobooks to add to your library. Whether you're rooting for the story’s hero or antagonist, these tales of revenge will have you glued to your seat.

What listeners say about They Never Learn

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    418
  • 4 Stars
    209
  • 3 Stars
    89
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    8
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    478
  • 4 Stars
    134
  • 3 Stars
    42
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    369
  • 4 Stars
    180
  • 3 Stars
    90
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Well...that was something

I'll say I was looking forward to this one for awhile. Based of the summary it sounded good. Well, I'm not sure what this was. It definitely wasn't what I was expecting. I would have appreciated a little advanced warning about it though. That said, you'll like this if the following are your cup of tea.

All men are awful, apparently, and will assault you. Even the nice ones.

A surprising number of people are cool with someone killing people and want to do it themselves.

Women seem to all be lesbians, Not an issue, just wasn't expecting it or that it happen that many times.

There are absolutely no likeable characters except for Drew and his partner. Definitely not a light read or a heartwarming, uplifting tale.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Got me out of my slump!

I’ve been in an Audible slump! NO MORE! This was amazing! I yelled “what????” In the car at one point. Nothing like rooting for a psycho killer. If you’re a man hater, you’ll really love it!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A PERFECT THRILLER

I loved everything about this book and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys the multiple narrator format, a good thriller, and lots of sexy romance. I loved the main character more than I have any main character in a long time. Layne Fargo creates an entire world and her use of language pulls you in, sets the scene, and all but puts the weapon in your hand! I loved the strong women throughout the book and the focus on the lack of consequences for those who commit sexual assault on college campuses and off. We need to do better. Love love loved it.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Not what I expected

I'm not sure what I expected, but this is a very interesting book. I would definitely recommend it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A snarky dark twisted tale…

...well maybe dark with a full moon to shed some light but definitely twisted.

Layne Fargo, wonderfully written book.
Lameece Issaq and Eileen Stevens, you two did an excellent job narrating.

When I read or in this case listen to a book afterwards I like to think about what the book was about from my perspective. That perspective is not always what the author feels the story is about or intended and my perspective may not be what other readers will think. I also wonder whether or not the author has a particular message woven into the book and whether or not they do I wonder if there is something I can take from the story regardless. To me that is what makes discussing books interesting and what makes book clubs so wonderful.

Layne Fargo writes a fictional story about a hard truth on campuses that I am sure many people especially women experience and one that many people want to ignore or pretend doesn’t happen. The subject matter of this book deals with sexual assault of women which is something many people don’t like reading about or enjoy talking about. While Layne never describes the details of sexual assault she does a good job depicting the situation.

To me this story does not make every man out to be a bad guy, just most of the men in the book are and it is not about lesbians, gays and heterosexuals. It is about human beings who abuse other people and about human beings who have been abused and in the background someone deals out some vigilante justice. Don’t make this book out to be women vs. men or homosexuals vs. heterosexuals because we are all human beings and deserve respect. Layne wrote this book essentially from the point of view of the people who mostly suffer from sexual assault and that is the female perspective.

The story of Scarlett Clark is about a woman who sees an injustice against another woman and takes the law into her own hands. She finds the worst man on campus every year and plots their death then she executes them. Is she a little, or perhaps a lot, psychotic? Yes, but so far, she gets the job done and over the years has dealt out justice to a lot of people who would otherwise never have received any but how long can she go without getting caught?

The story of Carly Schiller is one that shows how people not wanting to hear the truth and help truly affects not only the victim but those close to them. Sexual assault is hard for many victims to talk about and the story of Allison and Carly depict that and the reasons why very well. The bystanders at the party doing nothing to help is a good example. Carly’s story also shows how people close to you can be just as bad.

Without spoiling something or giving away a twist in the story I can’t tell you how well this story really was written. Layne did something in such a wonderful way that I was past the halfway point in the book before I knew she had incorporated something I don’t like reading in books. That little twist about halfway through the book made me say, “I was thinking that but decided no it can’t be.” Layne Fargo you really got one over on me. Very well done and you could have carried that all the way to the end if you had wanted to.

Overall I would give this book a 4.5 out of 5

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great

I truly loved this! 2 narratives, both interesting, come together beautifully. Definitely recommend checking it out

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book!!!

A serial killer with a purpose. Scarlet protects her young students by taking care of the male predators in her area. How will Carley and Scarlet cross paths? Well you will have to find out for yourself and you will love the connection. The ending is an ending you hope to get.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

I’ll Never Learn

… to read genre novels. I could sense the author’s gears grinding to build this plot. Underwhelmed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bi rep

WOW!! The bisexual representation was immaculate, the twists and turns, the thrill. I shrieked a few times throughout this novel, i was just stunned

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Maybe just the genre for me.

I did finish this book & for the most part it was a fun listen. I guess for me, it got a little too unrealistic & cringey at some points. The parts with Alison & Carly as they progress in the story we're especially cringey. Still worth a listen if you enjoy listening from the perspective as the "antagonist," of the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 10-18-21

Strong, emotional thriller!

This book really pulled me in, it got its point across quite bluntly and with lots of emotion. It made me understand, then at points actually feel, the intense anger of the main character.

Definitely a difficult book that will stay with me a long while, I’d recommend reading this when your brain is in a good place!