• This Woven Kingdom

  • By: Tahereh Mafi
  • Narrated by: Kate Reading
  • Length: 13 hrs and 21 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (266 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.92

Buy for $23.92

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Clashing empires, forbidden romance, and a long-forgotten queen destined to save her people - Tahereh Mafi’s first in an epic, romantic trilogy inspired by Persian mythology. New York Times bestseller!

To all the world, Alizeh is a disposable servant, not the long-lost heir to an ancient Jinn kingdom forced to hide in plain sight.

The crown prince, Kamran, has heard the prophecies foretelling the death of his king. But he could never have imagined that the servant girl with the strange eyes, the girl he can’t put out of his mind, would one day soon uproot his kingdom - and the world.

Perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo, Tomi Adeyemi, and Sabaa Tahir, this is the explosive first book in a new fantasy trilogy from the New York Times bestselling and National Book Award-nominated author Tahereh Mafi.

“In a tale as exquisitely crafted as one of Alizeh’s own garments, Mafi weaves a spell of destiny and danger, forbidden love and courtly intrigue, magic and revolution.” - Cassandra Clare, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Last Hours

This Woven Kingdom is an exquisite fantasy. Rich with clever prose, delicious twists, and breathtaking world building. Prepare to be destroyed - this one will wrench at your heart and make it pound, and in the end it will leave you entirely speechless.” - Stephanie Garber, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Caraval series

©2022 Tahereh Mafi (P)2022 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about This Woven Kingdom

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    41
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

YA tropes, writing immature, wait for more books

I’m a fan of middle eastern inspired fantasy. Something like Arabian Nights (Alf Laylah wan Laylah). So I was very excited. The story is good but leaves a lot to be desired. The good parts is that this is great setting in a fairly well established world. It is a YA novel, so you’ll come across tropes, hormone heavy, sexual tension filled romantic scenes.

It is also very well read by Kate Reading (‘nuff said).

That’s where it ended for me. This is not a great novel … it is just good or pretty good.
I’m not an author, so I absolutely respect anyone who is an author. However, I do expect, as a reader, to have the authors I read to be good writers, that entertain me, make me think, sprinkle clues to intrigue me, and then give me a satisfactory ending, while leaving door open for me to read book 2 and 3.
Unfortunately, this is not that book (as much as I forced myself to like it).

The biggest challenge for any YA author is for their writing to become mature when telling an epic story. And that’s the biggest shortcoming of this novel. Tahereh stays within YA style (which is likely target audience for this) and does not get to the maturity the epic mess of this story demands. It makes it easy to read though.

As an example, there is an incident that occurs in the beginning of the novel. This scene has repercussions throughout the novel. However, when you read the scene, I never felt any seriousness and gravitas of the said incident. It happened, and then everyone kept talking about it throughout the novel. I never felt it was that important when I read it.

The other part is that author struggles with mysteries. Mysteries is spreading clues throughout the book, and then when you pull the thread in the end it shows how they are all connected. Yes, there are clues, it the writing never gave a sense that the reader is curious to solve the mystery. I felt like I’ll know when time comes. Novel lacks intrigue.

Fantasy novels have prophecies(yes it is a trope); I’m OK with it. And then there is a riddle which rhymes.
I was expecting it will be rhyme which has a meaning at the surface, and a deeper meaning when you flip it. Again shows the artistry of the author.
The prophecy is a short prose sentence. And the riddle has no deeper meaning. You just wait got the … … well wait for what and who from the riddle. Again no clues throughout the book to pull the reader in.

A good ending is that closes few threads, gives closure to the reader and leaves a few open. Then, the book ends. Yes I realize it is book 1, so the story continues in book 2. But there is a HUGE cliffhanger, with ZERO closure. Even the prose prophecy turns on its head, and no explanation is given of why that happened. And a new character is added conveniently during the last chapters.

A thoroughly unsatisfactory book to read. Every scene is written conveniently to move story forward, without intrigue, mystery, or gravity.
I may revisit this when more books are written, but for now, best to avoid.
Even as a YA, I’d recommend to go read Harry Potter or Mistborn trilogy.

35 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mixed feelings

this book I found was far too slow going. I didn't actually get interested in it until I was already halfway through it. I had a feeling that it was going to be an amazing book and it was really going to like it so I forced myself to keep reading. I am so glad that I did. however I'm not happy with the cliffhanger.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Wrong narrator

She’s not bad, but it sounds like a grandma telling the story. I liked it.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous!

This book was 10/10. It’s such a gorgeous start to a new series. The narrator did such a great job of bringing the authors work to life. I absolutely loved Alizeh. She’s such a pure sweet baby angel. I wanted nothing more than to give her a big hug throughout the entirety of the book.

Kamran, it was over for him the second he saw her for the first time. He simped immediately. He was shaking crying throwing up. Normally, I detest insta-love but we are looking the other way because:

“Her features were both precise and soft, balanced in every quadrant as if by a master. She was finely designed, loveliness rendered in it’s truest sense. This discovery was surreal to him to the point of distraction. He suspected she might be beautiful, yes, but this girl was not merely beautiful. She was stunning”.

“He had never seen anyone like her before, and he had the presence of mind to realize he might never again.”

“I might fetch you the moon if only to spare your tears again.”

Chapter 28 had me screaming, crying, and throwing up.

This story entertained me a lot and it REALLY picked it up at the end, can’t believe it was left so messy (in a good frustrating way) it makes you wish this book was 250 pages longer. You can tell this was more of a world building book. Need sequel NOW.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic Novel

This gripped me the entire time! I wanted to just listen at 2x speed to get it into my brain quicker because it was SO GOOD and I wanted to know how it ended. I am recommending this to everyone, and I eagerly await book 2! Tahereh is a master at writing and deserves all the recognition for it!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great premise, writing style, and performance!

I don't read a lot of YA but was have a beautiful edition that paired the audio book with when I saw the peformer.

YA tropes, which Im sensitive to and often annoyed by, aside this book is fun to read. I enjoyed the premise and themes. Sometimes the character behaviors seem unrealistic to the situations but this may be because I'm not the intended reader for this series. Will recommend to my family that loves the genre because they will love it!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can’t wait for the next book to be released!!!

This was surprisingly captivating.
Loved every bit of the story and can’t wait for the next book in the trilogy.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Obsessed

I am in love with this book. So incredibly good storytelling!! Amazing! Trust me just buy it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great story from Ms. Mafi

I've listened to the entire shatter me series (minus 2 of the novelas), so I have become quite familiar with Tahereh Mafi's work.
This one has the same great story telling, and character development but with some increased humor and sarcasm, which I quite enjoyed.
My only regret is that I have to await the next book.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Good but bad ending

I enjoyed the book, but I really hated the ending, it ruined it for me