adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.69

Buy for $35.69

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

One love story. Two marriages. Three versions of the truth.

Too Good to Be True is an obsessive, addictive love story for fans of Lisa Jewell and The Wife Upstairs, from Carola Lovering, the beloved author of Tell Me Lies.

Skye Starling is overjoyed when her boyfriend, Burke Michaels, proposes after a whirlwind courtship. Though Skye seems to have the world at her fingertips - she’s smart, beautiful, and from a well-off family - she’s also battled crippling OCD ever since her mother’s death when she was 11, and her romantic relationships have suffered as a result.

But now Burke - handsome, older, and more emotionally mature than any man she’s met before - says he wants her. Forever. Except, Burke isn’t who he claims to be. And interspersed letters to his therapist reveal the truth: he’s happily married, and using Skye for his own, deceptive ends.

In a third perspective, set thirty years earlier, a scrappy 17-year-old named Heather is determined to end things with Burke, a local bad boy, and make a better life for herself in New York City. But can her adolescent love stay firmly in her past - or will he find his way into her future?

On a collision course she doesn’t see coming, Skye throws herself into wedding planning, as Burke’s scheme grows ever more twisted. But of course, even the best laid plans can go astray. And just when you think you know where this story is going, you’ll discover that there’s more than one way to spin the truth.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press

“Lovering, a master of manipulation to rival her own characters, does a skillful job of gradually unspooling her intricate tapestry of psychological intrigue while deftly juggling her multiple narratives.” (Kirkus)

©2021 Carola Lovering (P)2021 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Too Good to Be True

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    887
  • 4 Stars
    306
  • 3 Stars
    126
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    923
  • 4 Stars
    248
  • 3 Stars
    57
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    768
  • 4 Stars
    293
  • 3 Stars
    129
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Didn't see that coming

A great book and the narrators are perfect. I had a lot of OMG moments. Easy to listen to... played a movie in my head.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Definitely a theme throughout this story

The story is very interesting. As someone who grew up middle class in Fairfield County, I can relate to the writer's disdain for anyone trying to define their success in life through how much money one has and not by their morals. I found a lot of moments very cringe-worthy and was worried about how it would play out in the end, but it seemed to be pretty realistic overall. I would have given it a 3.5 if I could have and rounded up vs down because the ending was better than expected.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Don’t think twice - download this one today!

Loved this audiobook. All the narrators were great, but Stephen Dexter did the best job showing the two sides of Burke Michaels. The way he delivered sarcastic wit had me laughing out loud. There were other parts that had me so angry, and I might have yelled out an expletive or two. All that to say, all narrators did a great job with their characters and engaging you in the story.

The story was fast paced, well thought out/clever and kept you guessing. The twist is delivered in a subtle way, and I didn’t pick up on it until it was revealed.

This makes for a great beach or pool read/listen - click to download ... You’ll be glad you did.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh My Goodness!!!

This story has “IT” all. The moral of the story is super inspiring! Letting go is so hard to do.

Thanks

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

Loved loved loved. Great characters and a gone girl worthy twisty plot. Going to get a copy for my best friend and mother in law. LOVE this author and can’t wait to see what she does next!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

loved it, twists were great and unexpected. hours flew by listening to the narrative.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Eh

It was a good story but it just seemed to fall flat at the end. The narration was good although the man's breathy voice was sometimes irritating. It was fast paced but it really needed a twist in the end.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved

The book was great! It did have some lengthy chapters that I feel they could have shortened some but overall great book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Engrossing

This is a book that I truly believe was better on Audible. I was captivated, especially the first half.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very enjoyable

This was a nice book. Not super predictable, well read, interesting. Would recommend to other.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 09-27-21

Pleasurable

This book was full of great performances and a very enjoyable story. How shallow some people can be. A bit too full of love but it was also peachy. Made me laugh at times. Yes a entertaining tome.