• Tradepoint Saga Box Set

  • Books 1-3
  • By: JJ Blacklocke
  • Narrated by: Kate Reading
  • Length: 43 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (44 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Get the Tradepoint Saga Box Set, featuring all three books in the series. A lengthy space opera filled with political intrigue, mystery, and a diverse cast of characters!

Nine hundred Vennans undertake a cultural exchange to Tradepoint, a space station where aliens from different worlds meet to do business. A young and gifted Speaker, Gredin, is translator and diplomat for the happy occasion.

But a horrific vision shatters her first night’s sleep on Tradepoint. Venna, their homeworld, has been destroyed. Now, the safety of the delegation, the only Vennans left in all of time and space, rests on Gredin’s young shoulders.

Stunned and grieving, she navigates trade wars and political prejudice, bartering with other races - some friendly, some neutral, some outright hostile - for what her people need to survive. And the cost of failure is the unthinkable.

Extinction.

Buy this special-edition omnibus to experience this complete space-opera trilogy today. This coming-of-age tale is perfect for fans of CJ Cherryh, Arkady Martine, Wen Spencer, and Star Trek: Picard.

This bundle contains three full-length novels: Refuge, Aftershock, and The Bereft.

©2020, 2021 Aethon Books (P)2022 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Tradepoint Saga Box Set

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Interesting but side tracked story

This story is essentially magic people meets space trade port. There is some fun and interesting concepts explored, while the write just waves a magic want and says The Power for all the usual items about the protagonists species, they miss opportunities to make this feel deeper and more complex as a result.

How do they heal each other, the power. How do they teleport, the power. How do they speak telepathically, the power. How do they de-atomize their bodily waste by products… the power.

Where I really felt the story got derailed was in part two and three where “magic aliens learn the power of non-monogamous casual sex”. This seemed to take over far, far to much of the story. It was not interesting and could have been a page or two and then used more effectively as interpersonal conflict than it was. Just when you expected to get the pay off of the over invested concept.. it dies in a whimper and… the power.

Still, the inter species interactions are interesting. The space port designed to support them is interesting. Some of the characters are interesting.


The upside of this is the wonderful performance by the narrator that gives life to the story. It made it better than the material was. The story went from two dimensional to three.



This was a value as a single credit buy as I would not have continued with out it being more for less.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding. Can’t wait for more from this author!

I really enjoyed this book. The storyline was superb and easy to follow. One of the best books I’ve listened to in the last couple of years. I can’t wait for this author to have more. I would highly recommend this book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable read, intriguing story.

I really enjoyed this series. I found myself experiencing a wide range of emotion. I think that the Author took too long to explain some basic conversation and occasionally the story got lost in unnecessary dialogue. I assume there will be at least one more book to tie up loose ends and I look forward to it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

This was an absolutely fantastic selection of books. Once you start listening to the Narrator’s voice, you’ll be drawn into the story. Loved the characters and the plot was fast paced.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Dc
  • 03-12-22

good for background noise

story plods along, characters don't grow or develop. main heroine is the cause of 90 percent of their own problems.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Mate or die

Book one is great. I would listen to it a second and third time. Book two was laughably terrible.
Spoiler alert:

Why the heck was there an eight-hour or so long story about pleasuring one's self before "being chosen." If your chosen dies, you have to join a bereft group and mate as often as you can so you don't die.
This is the campiest sex commune story that continues into book three, where the lead character is so nice she is just given everything her people will need to survive. Barf...

Like I said. Book one is great.
Kate Reading is AMAZING. She is the only reason I listened to all three books.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The first page of every sci-fi book...

Just as I started this saga, my daughter played something she found on the web about the first page of every sci-fi book. Blacklocke must have heard this and tried to top it, but even with all the unnecessary made-up words, I enjoy this trilogy much much and wanted it to go on for long long.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Everybody wants to rule the world

Too bad they don't have a world to rule, just shy of a thousand people.

I was given this audiobook for free and have voluntarily left this review.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Richard C
  • Richard C
  • 05-27-22

Great series and love how it's heading

I sincerely hope that the author does write more to this series.

Great to have a story about aliens that doesn't involve battles, human and starships. (for a change - but I enjoy those sort of stories as well)

Yep the books back a lot of details in. Some of the main characters are stunningly naive and you just want to slap them - but they have very limited experience and just don't use mechanical starships.

The narrator was fantastic and very easy to follow.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon GL
  • Simon GL
  • 03-10-22

A slow burner of a book but worth it.

I almost gave up in the first few hours of the book. Don't! The first book really sets the characters and plants the seeds for the rest of the books. This is a great listen for a single credit.

The author has really given life to the characters which are bought to life by the voice artist. How she managed to narrate the first book without getting angry at one of the characters is beyond me. They really annoyed me, but in a good way, they got their dues in book 2.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr. D. W. Wallace
  • Mr. D. W. Wallace
  • 03-03-22

Almost impossible to listen to.

Read the title that should say it all really. alien speech patterns have made it just about impossible to understand.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mark
  • Mark
  • 03-01-22

Riveting

Slow to start, but all of a sudden a hard to put down story.
Great Fantasy Sci-fi

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for dunpony
  • dunpony
  • 02-28-22

slow paced but compelling listening

Couldn't put this down. It's incredibly slow in places due to the detail but I found myself making excuses in order to listen to it.