• Trojan Nightmare

  • A LitRPG Cultivation Series
  • By: Blaise Corvin
  • Narrated by: Luke Daniels
  • Length: 13 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (669 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.49

Buy for $31.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Earth has been overrun with monsters.... 

Post-apocalypse America is unrecognizable from the past. Jake survives by working as the leader of a scavenging adventuring team. A former mage, now he follows the strange path of cultivation, taught to him by a mysterious traveler.  

As far as he knows, he is one of the only people on Earth with this power.  

Events will unfold that change Jake's life forever. Jake might even lose his very humanity while trying to do the right thing. But in return, perhaps he will grasp a second chance to save himself and others, to correct the past. He is about to be caught up in something much greater than himself.  

Will he be consumed by the machinations of greater powers? Only one thing is for certain. No matter how terrible the odds, Jake doesn't give up.  

Experience the start of the next hit LitRPG series from best seller Blaise Corvin. This is a cultivation story with elements of Eastern fantasy but also includes LitRPG and GameLit tropes. Perfect for fans of Dave Willmarth, Tao Wong, and Shadowrun. 

©2022 Blaise Corvin (P)2022 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Trojan Nightmare

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    557
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    563
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    505
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

An awesome new direction for Blaise Corvin’s writing.

This book was not LitRPG. And in spite of the title not super invested in cultivation either. At least not the way that the Cradle series and other books are with their constant, granular dissection of the mechanics of cultivation. Yes the MC is a cultivator and there are progression characteristics as well as some minor LitRPG elements. On the whole though, this is just really good modern fantasy with a GameLit flare.

I read one review that gave this book one star and called it a bait and switch based on the fact that the MC goes through a transformation, which makes the story dip it’s toes into another popular, apocalypse-fantasy genre. The complaint was that the summary doesn’t outright state this fact. However the summary does quite blatantly allude to it. Moreover, the criticism isn’t even really valid as the stated objection is only accurate for a couple days of the story.

Don’t let this other review turn you off. I suspect that the reviewer stopped listening about 5 minutes before their objection would have become totally moot…. Sorry for being vague about the details, but I hate spoilers. If you come across the other review, what I’ve said above should make more sense.

All that aside, if you are curious enough about this audiobook to take the time to read this far into my review then you should spend the credit on this one. It’s guaranteed not to disappoint.

I wasn’t sure what to expect going into this one but, so far, I think this series is going to be every bit as interesting and unique as his books about Ludus.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best Corvin book yet

I’ve been a reader of Blaise Corvin for a long time. Now I am a fan. Apocalypse Cultivation nails it on every level. Couldn’t be more excited for the sequels. I want 100 more.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yo Luke it's Valdosta pronounced like Rasta.

not finished...so Far it's good ...I'll edit my review then. The mispronounced city was killing me lol Valdosta along with Tifton GA are speed trap central on I-75 . The cops set up on overpasses and radar cars and others are waiting down the highway to pull you over.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mostly freaking awesome

ok I loved like 90 percent of this book super excited for what comes next, only complaint is the random bouts of stupidity for a large part of this book our hero is intelligent, capable and likable. but sometimes for no reason he seems to just forget things that he should know or be aware of or take actions that make no sense it's like why why would you do that you know better why would you do that and its only to create tension. it doesn't happen alot but when it does its so jarring it made me stop and roll my eyes

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Needs more meat and less filler.

The narrator is good. The story is good. There is just to much filler.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

More filler than meat

This story isn’t bad but it’s just a rehash of several other books that are similar. Some chapters had 95% unneeded details with 5% of the content moving the story line. Paragraphs upon paragraphs in between two sentences of one conversation… blah!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great Read

Pros:
Interesting and a couple unexpected twists.
MC is likeable.
Plot has a logical follow through. Not crazy plot armor.
MC is a hero/anti-hero combo that I found interesting.

Cons:
MC is solo for a majority of the book.
Several questions left unanswered, hopefully there is an explanation in the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Ehhh

Ok story and well read. Over used troupes, MC monologues go on and on while taking forever to describe a discission.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fighting Nightmares

The purple rain happened about 6 years ago and the world changed. When the apocalypse hit, everything shifted. Some people who were down on their luck decided to let some of the evil beings in. This led to some smart monsters which made fights even harder. If they can think like humans, they might be able to outthink you. Chi powered your body and spells.

Jake and the team were trying to make some money by taking out a witch, but the problem was two come out of the building. Almost the entire team was lost in the first salvo. The guns were not working against the fisherwitch. She had a barrier which normal guns couldn’t penetrate. This was happening more and more lately, but with bullets hard to come by maybe this wasn’t so bad.

The team are all different levels and have different fighting styles. One uses crossbows, one uses magic, one is former military and one a former hippie. It is definitely a ragtag crew. Jake had Landry tank one of the witches while the rest of them took the second one. The rest of them took the witch down and Jake went in and finished it off. Then they went and finished off the second one. They went back to base and then found out that scientists had found a stabilized tear in space time. This could be the source of a possible invasion. The government has conscripted all teams and they are supposed to head there.

Great story, definitely recommend!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good if you give it time.

First: Luke is a great narrator. Enjoy his work.

This book isn't LitRPG, it's Cultivation & Progression Low/Urban Fantasy. It's fine with me, I'm a fan of all of that.

The beginning of the story throws us directly into a well established world. It's kind of confusing and uncomfortable. So many things are thrown at you so quickly. Bear with it though, it gets better and it sets up the rest of the book, it will all get explained with time.

This book isn't sunlight and rainbows. It's actually pretty dark, but not super graphic. Jake ends up being forced into a monstrous race evolution that ends up dictating quite a bit of the darker feel. If you're into it, it's actually pretty well done.

Due to how the story is set up, Jake ends up pretty strong pretty quickly and just gets even more so. This could bea big plus if you want to jump right into the action and skip the low level stuff that pretty much every other book starts with.

All in all, the story was pretty decent, but not amazing and in no way horrible. The ending leaves quite a few loose threads and is pretty ambiguous. Guess we'll see what happens in the next one.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mr Peter B Jasper
  • Mr Peter B Jasper
  • 05-20-22

Nothing worthwhile comes easy

Rich and vivid world building, excellent narration. The MC goes through many struggles in his cultivation journey. No free lunch here for an OP MC. He earns his power.

…..Spoiler alert ……

…….spoiler alert…….

As a stroke survivor I particularly appreciated the depiction of the MC becoming a zombie, which required him to .Deal with visual, cognitive and physical deficits to achieve his objectivea and grow his abilities. The MC goes through some seriously intense “ rehabilitation “.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for adrian
  • adrian
  • 04-20-22

Great book

thoroughly enjoyable read,

my wife wrote this review for me while I was driving - she's amazing!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MB
  • MB
  • 03-27-22

Good stuff

Blaise is back with a bang. Great story, enjoyed it!
Get it and read/listen, I’m sure you’ll love it too.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Samuel Alpe
  • Samuel Alpe
  • 03-20-22

delicious

well crafted, thought out characters, flashed out plot and world building. creative magic and abilities and paths of power in a more open source platform. looking forward to the more litrpg elements coming into play in book 2 and seeing how they are developed with the basics of the power sets already in play!