• Unbreakable

  • A Novel
  • By: W.C. Bauers
  • Narrated by: Andi Arndt
  • Length: 12 hrs and 58 mins
  • 4.1 out of 5 stars (118 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Unbreakable  By  cover art

Unbreakable

By: W.C. Bauers
Narrated by: Andi Arndt
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $25.51

Buy for $25.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The colonists of the planet Montana are accustomed to being ignored. Situated in the buffer zone between two rival human empires, their world is a backwater: remote, provincial, independently minded. Even as a provisional member of the Republic of Aligned Worlds, Montana merits little consideration - until it becomes the flashpoint in an impending interstellar war. When pirate raids threaten to destabilize the region, the RAW deploys its mechanized armored infantry to deal with the situation. Leading the assault is Marine Corps Lieutenant and Montanan expatriate Promise Paen of Victor Company. Years earlier, Promise was driven to join the Marines after her father was killed by such a raid. Payback is sweet, but it comes at a tremendous and devastating cost. And Promise is in no way happy to be back on her birthworld, not even when she is hailed as a hero by the planet's populace, including its colorful president. Making matters even worse: Promise is persistently haunted by the voice of her dead mother. Meanwhile, the RAW's most bitter rival, the Lusitanian Empire, has been watching events unfold in the Montana system with interest. Their forces have been awaiting the right moment to gain a beachhead in Republic territory, and with Promise's Marines decimated, they believe the time to strike is now. Unbreakable by W.C. Bauers is character driven, military science fiction at its best.

©2014 William C. Bauers (P)2014 Macmillan Audio

More from the same

What listeners say about Unbreakable

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    26
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not the SciFi I hoped

OK look, it was a good book, but more of a political strategy story than a SciFi futuristic battle that I hoped it would be. If you're into the political strategy behind the war, then this book is for you (at some points, it felt like the author was trying to prove his knowledge of political chess). If you're into futuristic technology and action packed battle, look elsewhere

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ours is not to reason why.

In the fine tradition of the notable heroes of fact and fiction rises the new star Lt. Promise Paen. Part Lewis Burwell "Chesty" Puller, Honor Harrington, Kristine Longknife and Horatio Hornblower and undoubtedly all her own.

Promise Paen has left her life and her home world behind her in a gamble to gain the expertise necessary wreak bloody vengeance. Instead she finds a home and family in her brother's and sisters in the R.A.W. Marines. No one can run forever, and Lt. Paen has just been called to duty on the one rock in all the 'verse she never wanted to see again.

A dark shadow has come calling upon her home world and Paen must wage a war both conventional and insurgent to save a world and people she never expected to again lay eyes on. She is headed home. Duty and honor will make her confront all her demons face on.

W.C. Bauers is not afraid to cut a swath of blood and bodies through his creation like he made a personal bet with George R.R. Martin over body count. Not one death is over done. Every drop of blood sweat and tears draws the story forward to the plot's climax.

Much like Slim Pickens in Doctor Strangelove I know I am in for the ride of my life, while the sultry tones of Mae West whisper in my ear “Fasten your seatbelts, it's going to be a bumpy ride”.

The Narrator, Andi Arndt does a brilliant job bringing the characters to life.

Why are you still reading this review and not listening to the book already?

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Solid military SF

While this will never be a classic, it is a solid, if predictable entry into the field. After not finishing a number of well reviewed self-published novels it is a relief to finally find a book that wasn't just silly, that played fair with physics, that didn't have crazy packed asteroid fields.

The plot played fair. No miracles saving everyone when all seemed hopeless. Characters we're decently fleshed out for this type of novel.

The narrator did an excellent job. Recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A fine debut for fans of MilSciFi.

Many writers try to be as good as their own favorite authors and genres, but W.C Bauers has succeeded. Fans of Weber, Ringo, Larson, Kratman and so many more will discover that a great new voice has exploded into our midst like a happiness grenade. The only criticism I will mention is that the naval scenes need more detail, but I can easily tell that the author has what it takes to do just that, and more, if he desires. Kudos to you Mr. Bauers!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really Good Story!

This is a classic. It follows all of the classical themes of great space opera fiction. Young female sergeant in the RAW Marines is thrust into unwanted command with a small force against insuperable odds and wins. The story hits all the right buttons for me, just like Weber did with the Honor Harrington stories and Weber and Ringo did decades ago with the We Few series. Some might critique this as cliche, but I like it. I highly recommend this to anyone who likes great space opera/military sci-fi.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I hope Andi Arndt narrates the next book too!

And I hope to see Book 2 in the Audible catalog soon . It appears that Unbreakable has been around since 2015…. hopefully the next book will be recorded soon. This one hits right in my personal sweet spot. Honorable heroine, military science fiction, underdogs, adversity to success….the whole shebang!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great sci-fi, great narrator

It’s a good mix of naval and marine story lines. The story is smooth, solid and enticing. The narrator ends up being wonderful. At first I thought she was young sounding, maybe inexperienced. Then she does a fun job at Sean Connery impersonation. The readily cool part for me was how she puts realism in the emotions. For instance, a character is running and the narrator was breathing like the running character, only lighter to not take away from the story telling. Other emotions were on display as well and it really added to the story. Read as if you were thinking how the teller was trying to tell it. Very cool.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good Book

I like trying a writer's first work and at least as far as audible this was the first. I think it was a very good first attempt. There are plot problems like the hero getting a promotion over others that were about seven steps above what she was. You will have to ignore those and it will be enjoyable.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A slow start.

The story didn't really grab me at first but it soon caught up. And it was great from there on out. Narrator seemed to lack expression sometimes. Not that I could do any better though.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

boring.

there is never a climax towards anything, never knew who the side characters were. no world building. over all an event driven bore...with a monotone narrator.