1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Uninvited  By  cover art

Uninvited

By: Sophie Jordan
Narrated by: Rebecca Gibel
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $31.93

Buy for $31.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan, Uninvited is a chilling and suspenseful story about a girl whose DNA brands her a killer, perfect for fans of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer and Shatter Me.

Davy had everything - a terrific boyfriend, the homecoming crown, a bright future at Juilliard - but when her genetic tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome, she loses it all. Uninvited from her prestigious school, avoided by her friends and family, she is placed in a special class with other "carriers" who are treated like the murderers they someday might become. 

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life and tells her that she alone controls her actions - not the code embedded into her DNA. But even if she can learn to trust him, can Davy trust herself? 

Don’t miss the continuation of Davy’s journey in Unleashed, the romantic, high-stakes conclusion!  

©2014 Sharie Kohler (P)2014 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Uninvited

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    63
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    68
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mix of Vanilla Sky/ Hunger Games/ Hollocaust.

If you could sum up Uninvited in three words, what would they be?

Vanillasky. Hungergames. Hollocaust.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Definitely the Male lead.

What does Rebecca Gibel bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I like how it is a realistic portrayal of what could actually happen the3 way that society Is going. We are repeating past mistakes just thinking that we are more intelligent about how we do it now.

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

The group /gang mentality society is quick to take on when faced with what they perceive as a threat.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Grabbed me from the first page.

I don't usually write reviews, but I had to on this book. I started reading Sophie Jordan with her Firelight series. I really liked them so when this book came out I thought cool, I have to give that a read. I was not disappointed, this book had me from the very start. I really identified with Davy, I felt her agonies. Sophie truly brought Davy's character to life for me I felt transported into the story. I cried for Davy even before she could cry for herself. I loved her courage and toughness. I love that even after everything that was done to her she kept her humanity. I can't wait for the second book in the series!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don't get it!

This book wasn’t for you, but who do you think might enjoy it more?

Nobody could enjoy this

What could Sophie Jordan have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

Go to writing school

What aspect of Rebecca Gibel’s performance would you have changed?

Choose better books to read

If you could play editor, what scene or scenes would you have cut from Uninvited?

Throw it in the trash

Any additional comments?

Had problems returning it too!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow.... JUST WOW!!

Absolutely AMAZING BOOK!! I ALSO LOVED THE Opinion of the author at the end.... SHE IS SO RIGHT!! The narrator did an awesome job!! I can't wait to listen to the next book!! I already have it downloaded!!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Disreguard for Constitutional Rights

Would you try another book from Sophie Jordan and/or Rebecca Gibel?

if free

What could Sophie Jordan have done to make this a more enjoyable book for you?

show other countries in more realistic light. Have more people stand up for civil rights.

Did the narration match the pace of the story?

yes

What reaction did this book spark in you? Anger, sadness, disappointment?

frustration that people have so little trust in our constitution to think it can be overthrown in this way.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Started a little slow

I thought it started a little slow, but it turned out great recommend to teen readers!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scary in the most realistic way possible!

This book had me engrossed from the moment I read the synopsis. This subject matter is something that could easily be true... could even become true in the future. The possibility of being singled out because of a single code in your DNA and being outcasted from society is an all-too realistic thought. It hits deep in your core because science is so evolved that you know it's just around the corner. Davy is every girl you know. Shawn and Gil every boy. The emotion, the character development, the world building... Absolutely riveting. Read this book. You won't regret it. Oh, and the author's note? Don't skip it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting and unique

Would you try another book from Sophie Jordan and/or Rebecca Gibel?

I've been wanting to read Sophie Jordan's Firelight series for a while, so yes.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The killer gene and how individuals with the gene were treated was the most interesting. The least interesting was Davy's whining about her being better than everyone else.

Which character – as performed by Rebecca Gibel – was your favorite?

Tori, even though she's a horrible character. Rebecca Gibel really nailed the whole bitchy attitude she had going on.

Was Uninvited worth the listening time?

Yes.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply amazing

Would you listen to Uninvited again? Why?

Probably not only because I don't like to Muehleisen the books but it's definitely worth it so A second breed

What was one of the most memorable moments of Uninvited?

When Davy Sean was forced to kill

Which character – as performed by Rebecca Gibel – was your favorite?

Sean

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No it was too long

Any additional comments?

I want a second super good book highly recommended

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LondonReporter
  • LondonReporter
  • 07-11-20

I loved it

I really romanticised Davy and Shawn as the chemistry from the book was just so intense. The story line is so interesting and really drew me from the moment i started to listen it. Some of the concepts like being taken advantage of because of your race, gender or just situation really made me have a new insight on life and unfair treatment . I’m really looking forward to reading another book by this author and my overall thought on the book is that I think it had a beautiful story line and was perfectly worded and written.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jade
  • jade
  • 06-28-17

Narration let it down

I liked the book, the story was good. The narration in this case really let it down though. It didn't feel young, the main character didn't feel engaging or vulnerable the way she did in the written version.
It's a great YA story, and I enjoyed the whole written series. I won't however be purchasing the following audiobooks in the series. But I'm fussy with narration I think.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AlleMap
  • AlleMap
  • 09-17-14

Interesting!!

Would you listen to Uninvited again? Why?

I would listen to it over and over again! It's really interesting & pretty heavy story.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Chapter 28 is my favourite.
Not to spoil the story for readers who have not read it yet. All I can say is finally!! Long anticipated after waiting for it to happen on every chapter.
Chapter 30 - 31 (2nd favourite).
.......after all that happen. At last it slows down but .....

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

My reaction was crazy. I cried a lot because of all that happen to Davy.

Any additional comments?

I will assume there will be a continuity to the story. 2nd book to know what will happen to the survivors.