adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $23.95

Buy for $23.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the New York Times best-selling author of The Unteachables, Gordon Korman, comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to “unplug” at a wellness camp - where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos. Perfect for fans of Korman’s Ungifted and the Masterminds series, as well as Carl Hiaasen’s eco mysteries. 

As the son of the world’s most famous tech billionaire, spoiled Jett Baranov has always gotten what he wanted. So when his father’s private jet drops him in the middle of the Arkansas wilderness, at a place called the Oasis, Jett can’t believe it. He’s forced to hand over his cell phone, eat grainy veggie patties, and participate in wholesome activities with the other kids, who he has absolutely no interest in hanging out with.

As the weeks go on, Jett starts to get used to the unplugged life and even bonds with the other kids over their discovery of a baby-lizard-turned-pet, Needles. But he can’t help noticing that the adults at the Oasis are acting really strange.

Jett is determined to get to the bottom of things, but can he convince everybody that he is no longer just a spoiled brat who is making trouble?

©2021 Gordon Korman (P)2021 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about Unplugged

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    99
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Pretty good, but not my fave Gordon Korman book

Agree with others, not his best work. Loved Twinkie Squad, No More Dead Dogs, Ungifted, Schooled.... This and Masterminds seem a bit far fetched, but they are full of action.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Listen!

Mr.Korman has mastered his craft of providing clean and entertaining stories. His style of switching characters between chapters for a different point of view is spot on. Unplugged was great and I can see more books in the future from this vastly different set of four characters.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good book wish there was a second book

loved it. first audiobook with family/kids. unplugged was the best and great voice actors. kids are excited to read again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cute story

i enjoyed the storytelling and liked the premise. Preteens would like this book and the last sentence is worth the read!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful story, Wonderful performances

Author Gordon Kormam has another terrific YA book here. The ensemble voice actors are spot on.. Loosely this story involves an entitled rich brat, an isolated bare bones Wholeness Camp, dysfunctional adults, kids coping, a mysterious and possibly criminal mansion, a unique baby pet, and adventures that lead to an explosive and satisfying conclusion. I hope this YA book is turned into a well adapted movie along the lines as *Holes* or *Hoot*

YA is one of my favorite categories as an adult reader. YA Authors must convey their tale through plot and character development rather than gratuitous language or adult behavior as filler. As a retired middle school librarian I wish I still had a building full of kids to introduce to Jett and his friends as they grow up in their individual ways. Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Page-turner!

Excellent adventure turned Mystery! Captivating ending. Loved it, like the book "Notorious", It is a great follow-up!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fascinating!

another very good gordan korman book! great suspense, kept me very enthralled;) and great readers!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Rating

The reason I wrote this rating was because this book was the second best book I’ve ever read the first is The Republic Of Pirates and I like the author I recommend slacker as well.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Hated This

If you want a story that glorifies eating meat and having a bad attitude, and also mocks alternative beliefs and lifestyles, this is for you. It was NOT for me. The ending was good, but the journey was terrible.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love Gordan Korman

amazing absolutely amazing. incredible absolutely incredible. dazzling absolutely dazzling. stunning absolutely stunning. so good