adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.99

Buy for $24.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Eleanor Oliphant Is Completely Fine, debut author Suzy Krause delivers a quirky, colorful story about love, loss, second chances, and what it means to truly live.

Valencia, a timid debt collector with crippling OCD, is afraid of many things, but the two that scare her most are flying and turning thirty-five. To confront those fears, Valencia’s therapist suggests that she fly somewhere - anywhere - before her upcoming birthday. And as Valencia begins a telephone romance with a man from New York, she suddenly has a destination in mind. There’s only one problem - he might not actually exist.

Mrs. Valentine is an eccentric old woman desperate for company, be it from neighbors, telemarketers, or even the funeral director (when you’re her age, you go to a lot of funerals). So she’s thrilled when the new cleaning girl provides a listening ear for her life’s story - a tale of storybook love and incredible adventures around the world with her husband before his mysterious and sudden disappearance.

The stories of Valencia and Mrs. Valentine may at first appear to have nothing in common…but then again, nothing in life is as straightforward as it seems.

©2019 by Suzy Krause. (P)2018 Brilliance Publishing, Inc., all rights reserved.

Critic Reviews

"Narrator Janet Metzger adopts a Canadian accent while bringing these Saskatchewan-based characters to life. She skillfully helps to distinguish characters such as the hesitant, anxious Valencia; the elderly, talkative Mrs. Valentine; and assorted friends and co-workers. Her characterizations work well to convey the author's musings on worries, love, friendship, and progress versus stagnation." (AudioFile Magazine)

“Perfect for fans of Maria Semple and Graeme Simsion, Valencia and Valentine is a charming novel with quirky characters the reader can’t help falling in love with. With a unique voice and a fun twist, it’s a story of love, human connection, and adversity that is handled with deftness and compassion by Krause. You’ll think about the characters and their stories long after you turn the final page; in fact, as soon as I finished, I was tempted to go back to the beginning and start it again!” (Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls)

Valencia and Valentine is a charming, beautifully told tale of love and loss, disappointments and dreams. You will root for this cast of eccentric characters, ache for them, and celebrate their victories. A terrific debut, sure to delight fans of Gail Honeyman and Fredrik Backman. Irresistible!” (Lori Nelson Spielman, internationally best-selling author of Sweet Forgiveness and The Life List

“A quirky, touching story about two women who, on the surface, are not connected: but life is strange, and nothing is what it appears to be. Perfectly poignant, and for oddballs everywhere.” (Georgia Clark, critically acclaimed author of The Regulars)

What listeners say about Valencia and Valentine

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    55
  • 4 Stars
    53
  • 3 Stars
    41
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    78
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    49
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

enjoyable read

I was confused at points but then in the end it all makes sense. Everytime I thought I knew what was going to happen I was wrong. lol I appreciated the fact that the author shows how anxiety and mental health feels... how it feels for people who live with it everyday.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprisingly touching, inspiring and thought provoking.

I loved this book. The story was so beautifully woven together. Some romance, mystery and the reality of life when someone struggles with mental illness issues.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful

Don’t waste your money. The worst book I’ve listened to in ages. I don’t even really know what the story was! It was like being in the mentally ill main character’s head : all garbled and incoherent. It should be described as a stream of consciousness fantasy. I finished it feeling YUCK, WHAT AN AWFUL STORY!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Waste of time

This story made no sense. I kept waiting for something of importance to happen. It never happened.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing and Unique

Another unique, captivating book by Suzy Krause. There is just enough detail without having to paint a picture. Can't wait for more I'm! I'm thinking about listening to this again.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a Beautiful Sad story! It made me cry...

Absolutely loved it! Every minute of it! Just brilliant! The ending was a True Masterpiece!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful love story and relatable true characters

Some books speak to you in a personal way, like the author is a good friend who knows you personally. I adored the characters in this novel and the love story woven throughout was tender and priceless. As someone who has had social anxiety my whole life I GET Valencia! I identify with her in a way that I rarely do with characters. Her social ineptitudes are quirky and sometimes comical but are utterly relatable if you've ever experienced this kind of anxiety. I haven't experienced OCD myself but as a former mental health therapist her description seems fairly accurate. Also Valencia's therapist, Louise is, hilarious and cringe-worthy in her own way.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Don’t waste your time

I really really disliked this book. It was so so slow. I actually gave up half-way through as the story wasn’t going anywhere for either character. If there was anything going on I would have stayed with it because I rarely don’t push through a book.
The narrator was alright. I have listened to other books with her reading, but her pace and the very ending nothingness of the parallel stories made me want to cry in frustration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice story

This was nice to listen to. Sweet story with several twists and turns. Performance was great.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

pretty good

This book was a little confusing the way it was presented but overall I found it entertaining. I liked how OCD was portrayed in the book in a sensitive way. It was just annoying the way it switched back and forth between stories and it didn't make any sense until the end. The ending was also kind of jumbled. Still it was a fun read and it kept my attention.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mari
  • Mari
  • 10-11-20

Not for me

I never connected in any way with Valencia - perhaps this reflects more on me than the character. Narration was excellent.