1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Vanessa and Her Sister  By  cover art

Vanessa and Her Sister

By: Priya Parmar
Narrated by: Emilia Fox,Clare Corbett,Julian Rhind-Tutt,Daniel Pirrie,Anthony Calf
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of The Paris Wife and Loving Frank comes a captivating novel that offers an intimate glimpse into the lives of Vanessa Bell, her sister Virginia Woolf, and the controversial and popular circle of intellectuals known as the Bloomsbury Group.

London, 1905: The city is alight with change, and the Stephen siblings are at the forefront. Vanessa, Virginia, Thoby, and Adrian are leaving behind their childhood home and taking a house in the leafy heart of avant-garde Bloomsbury. There they bring together a glittering circle of bright, outrageous artistic friends who will grow into legend and come to be known as the Bloomsbury Group. And at the center of this charmed circle are the devoted, gifted sisters: Vanessa, the painter, and Virginia, the writer.

Each member of the group will go on to earn fame and success, but so far Vanessa Bell has never sold a painting. Virginia Woolf's book review has just been turned down by The Times. Lytton Strachey has not published anything. E. M. Forster has finished his first novel but does not like the title. Leonard Woolf is still a civil servant in Ceylon, and John Maynard Keynes is looking for a job. Together, this sparkling coterie of artists and intellectuals throw away convention and embrace the wild freedom of being young, single bohemians in London.

But the landscape shifts when Vanessa unexpectedly falls in love and her sister feels dangerously abandoned. Eerily possessive, charismatic, manipulative, and brilliant, Virginia has always lived in the shelter of Vanessa's constant attention and encouragement. Without it, she careens toward self-destruction and madness. As tragedy and betrayal threaten to destroy the family, Vanessa must decide if it is finally time to protect her own happiness above all else.

©2014 Priya Parmar (P)2014 Random House Audio

What listeners say about Vanessa and Her Sister

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    105
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    6
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    122
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    87
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Astonishing

Where does Vanessa and Her Sister rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Either first or second.

What other book might you compare Vanessa and Her Sister to and why?

I would compare it to Anansi Boys narrated by Lenny Henry because the narration is so good you lose yourself in it.

What does the narrators bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

Since this book is written as a diary and letters, it is wonderful to hear because it's like the author of the diary or the letter is speaking out loud what he/she is writing down.

If you could rename Vanessa and Her Sister, what would you call it?

I would not rename it. The name is perfect, giving Vanessa Bell the headline.

Any additional comments?

Vanessa Bell was already my favorite Bloomsbury; if you have any interest in the Bloomsbury group, you will love this. If you don't know Bloomsbury, this is a splendid introduction. I am now going to go choose a Virginia Woolf novel to listen to.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Vanessa and her Sister

Very good book. Draws in the reader, immerses the reader in the historical art and literary scene of the day. It was quite interesting to have a glimpse of Virginia Wolfe as a sibling might have viewed her.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

unimpressed

the story was so so but the narrator was good. the characters were also interesting.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

No Sparkle, No Brilliance; Bloomsbury Bores.

Because this book was about Vanesssa Bell & Virginia Woolf, I stuck it out to the end hoping it would have some sort of interesting windup. But alas, this author manages to make the fascinating and artistic Bloomsbury group boring. While the book starts off reasonably interesting, with some beautiful language and interesting descriptions of the environments where the family spends its time. But as the novel winds on, the tension between Vanessa and Virginia becomes no more interesting than a sibling rivalry between a manic depressive and a boring housewife who dabbles in painting. While there are plenty of allusions in Vanessa's diary and the letters of their circle to Virginia's brilliance, it never actually shows - the only part of Virginia we see is is either talking baby talk or shrieking to herself. Though Bell was a talented and important painter, all we see is housewifely exhaustion and boring details about her babies. The farther into the book you go, the more repetitive it gets. ZZZ.

Narrator does a fantastic job.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

thoroughly enjoyable listen

Would you listen to Vanessa and Her Sister again? Why?

yes!!! because it is a compelling and well performed story

Who was your favorite character and why?

can't choose . . .love them all

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

yes, LOVE IT!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Sisters and The Bloombury Group

Anyone interested in Virginia Woolf or the Bloomsbury Group will benefit from this book. Don't miss the interview at the end if you are reading along. You may view Woolf differently, but you will get added insight into this very complex woman.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Had to speed up audio to get through this book

I quickly became uninterested and bored with the lives of these shallow people. I did not feel one ounce of endearment or empathy for any of them. Glad to be finished with this one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fascinating!

I was always intrigued by the Bloomsbury Group,
but had no actual knowledge about who was in the group. I knew of Virginia Woolf, but not of her sister Vanessa Bell. I'm obsessed now.
As an artist, this was the perfect listen while painting in my studio.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful writing, amazing women

This book was a pleasure to hear. There are wonderful moments of beautiful thoughtful writing and the characters are larger than life,(though of course, they are real characters). I hadn't known anything about Vanessa Bell and now I have discovered her, and her paintings. We all know that women painters never receive the recognition that male artist receive. So she is a hidden treasure. Their world was full of amazing people who are famous and remarkable in many areas. Most of us know the basic outline of Virginia Wolf's life, but the story and narration give her a vivid presence that is hard to forget.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully written.

A book you never want to end. It's as though the author inhabited Bloomsbury, intimately knowing the characters and values their place and contributions to early 20th century art, literature and culture.