• Voodoo Academy: The Complete Box Set

  • Gates of Eden: The Voodoo Legacy, Books 1-5
  • By: Theophilus Monroe
  • Narrated by: Sydney Fry
  • Length: 26 hrs and 43 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (24 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Voodoo Academy: The Complete Box Set  By  cover art

Voodoo Academy: The Complete Box Set

By: Theophilus Monroe
Narrated by: Sydney Fry
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Being possessed has its advantages...

Sure, my soul-bound familiar could be a pain in the ass, but she came with some pretty impressive abilities. A nasty voodoo demigod, a loa of destruction, wants to steal her power.

Ogoun, the loa of war, has invited me to join the Voodoo Academy. If I master the arts, he tells me that I might have a chance to thwart the demigod's scheme. But can any of these "gods" be trusted? They all have ulterior motives. And I won't be a pawn in their war. But if I don't stop him, if he steals these powers...he could destroy the world.

I'm an outsider. Not at all like the other students at the academy. I don't think they'll ever accept me. But if I don't go, if I don't learn to control these abilities, it will mean the end of everything I hold dear.

©2020 Theophilus Monroe (P)2022 Theophilus Monroe

What listeners say about Voodoo Academy: The Complete Box Set

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

voodoo academy

NARRATED BY SYDNEY FRY
Gates of Eden the Voodoo legacy books 1 – 5
The narrator has a monotone voice talks extremely slow on the normal setting
It was hard to get into these books due to that.
The story itself is interesting, the teen witches working with their familiars to solve the mystery’s that are surrounding the academy
If you enjoy magic academy fantasy books and occult urban fantasy, especially books with a dark twist, then you will love Theophilus Monroe’s Voodoo Legacy. Fans of authors like Michael Anderle, Martha Carr, Linsey Hall, or Ramy Vance will love this compelling coming of age urban fantasy epic.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Not a great narrative

You could tell she was reading. Didn’t flow very well. Hard to stay interested
Wish that narrator would have been diffrent

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the book, not the narrator

Loved the story, but the narrator was difficult to listen to. There were a lot of mispronounced words, strange background sounds occasionally, and very little vocal distinction between characters.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Atrocity of a narrator

Narration is juvenile, high pitched and whiney. Mispronounces an abundance of words. if you sign up to read a book about witches, voodoo and other supernatural things, possibly learn how to properly pronounce things like gris gris, grimoire and other related words. You can hear her turning pages, the microphone bending and doors opening as people come into her studio. Her voice fades away frequently as she presumably turns her head away from the microphone. Forced myself to finish this box set to see if the narration got any better as 5 books went on. Spoiler - I did not. I genuinely cannot tell if these books were good or bad as I was SO put off by the narration.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Action filled coming of age story

Incredible story. Has a few slow moments but every book ends with a nice cliffhanger. You can really follow along as MC grows and comes into her final role.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I love this

I cried when this series ended. The way that the worlds combined and came together to stop a seemingly unstoppable force was beautiful. I loved the world building and character development. The narrator was fantastic, and the way she portrayed the characters was awesome.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC WIT, HUMOUR AND GREAT VALUE BOX SET.

FANTASTIC WIT, HUMOR AND GREAT VALUE BOX SET
I have the 5 boxed set of this Voodoo series on audible which is a fantastic bargain for one credit .The box set has Over 26 hrs of good quality story, well written and well narrated. I can totally recommend this as a clean read, just a couple of humoresque references to body parts but no hanky panky. I was quite impressed actually with the solid content, the moral references and good verse evil plot. Solid 5 stars all round. I have the 5 boxed set of this Voodoo series on audible which is a fantastic bargain for one credit .

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Enjoyed the stories

I enjoyed the books. Listened to the Cain books first which are great so I wanted to listen to some of the backstory of some of the characters in the Cain books. Was interesting to see how some of them had evolved. Really enjoyed them. The only thing I wish the narrator would have done the characters in more distinguished voices. But she was ok. Would recommend the books.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Possession brings an intriguing adventure

Received as an audio review copy from Story Origin, this is and honest review. Narrated by Sydney Fry, she was okay for the story but for me didn't make the story immersive as it should have been. Despite not on board with the narrator, the story didn't lose then snarky beauty of this urban fantasy/ mystery written by Theophilus Monroe. Annabelle is a wickedly brilliant character whose life gets thrown to hell once she's possessed by by the spirits of a girl dead for 200 years; mastering the "unique" gifts that have come from the girl means attending an academy with its eccentric students is just the beginning of a wild journey that will Annabelle in every e at possible. Highly recommended.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Story is decent needs new Narrator

The story starts pretty slow to me, they need another narrator story is read flat, hard to get into the book d/t her just reading thru the story, hard to follow because of that.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kirsty Barrett
  • Kirsty Barrett
  • 05-14-22

Wow

Wow. This book was action packed when in reality it probably was only a few months. The ride was amazing, and now I want to go back to other books on this world as the story expands this world so much and those books will all make better sense. How the aithor keeps track of all the interactions between the differents legs of this story actually amazes me. Great workmanship.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for VoraciousBookDragoness
  • VoraciousBookDragoness
  • 04-23-22

Story well written and great narration

Story well written and great narration.

I am voluntarily reviewing a copy I received free from the author.