• Wars of the Roses: Bloodline

  • By: Conn Iggulden
  • Narrated by: John Curless
  • Length: 14 hrs and 49 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (243 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $31.49

Buy for $31.49

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The brilliant retelling of the Wars of the Roses continues with Bloodline, the gripping third novel in the new series from historical fiction master Conn Iggulden.

Winter 1461: Richard, Duke of York, is dead - his ambitions in ruins, his head spiked on the wall of the city. King Henry VI is still held prisoner. His Lancastrian queen, Margaret of Anjou, rides south with an army of victorious Northerners, accompanied by painted warriors from the Scottish Highlands.

With the death of York, Margaret and her army seem unstoppable. Yet in killing the father, Margaret has unleashed the sons. Edward of March, now Duke of York, proclaims himself England's rightful king. Factions form and tear apart as snow falls. Through blood and treason, through broken men and vengeful women, brother shall confront brother, king shall face king. Two men can always claim a crown - but only one can keep it.

Following Margaret of Anjou, Bloodline is the third epic installment in master storyteller Conn Iggulden's new Wars of the Roses series. Fans of Game of Thrones and The Tudors will be gripped from the word go.

©2016 Conn Iggulden (P)2016 Recorded Books

What listeners say about Wars of the Roses: Bloodline

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    185
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    186
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    165
  • 4 Stars
    45
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another masterpiece for Iggulden

It is unbelievable to me that one writer captures the world of England during the war of the roses so completely. I always have been an Iggulden fan, but he truly has outdone his previous work here. The scene at that faithful Sunday in Taunton, in the driving snow, will forever be written as part of the true events surrounding that historic battle.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the series

Conn Iggulden can't write fast enough for me. Love this series same as The Khan and Cesar series. This is the first audible book as I have read the others but much enjoy this for the commutes to and from work.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

Fascinating, well written historical fiction. I am loving the ‘War of the Roses’ series and hope there are more to come! Conn Iggulden writes to make you feel as though you are standing in the thick of the action and John Curless is a wonder!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great series of books

Great series of books really enjoy and helps me understand this war a little better. Can't wait for the last one come on audible.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Yech. Yech. Yech.

I was trying to gain a foothold for understanding Shakespeare's plays. Here's a suggestion: Give a brief background of the complexity of what was happening other than the battles. And please, do not use that person to read this again. We are not all English. I hope to God not all people there spoke this way. Also - Was there an especial fascination with Edward IV? Not that there's anything wrong with it. but OK he was tall and strong. Got it. Yech. I wouldn't keep describing a woman to you over and over. Got it you love King Edward. But Yech.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Who knew English history could be so interesting!

Conn Igulden is a great story teller. The War of the Roses is a fascinating story and Conn brings it to life. I have also read his histories of Genghis Khan and Julius Caesar and both were equally well written.