• Watch Her Disappear

  • Detective Josie Quinn, Book 14
  • By: Lisa Regan
  • Narrated by: Kate Handford
  • Length: 11 hrs and 26 mins
  • 4.8 out of 5 stars (679 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Watch Her Disappear  By  cover art

Watch Her Disappear

By: Lisa Regan
Narrated by: Kate Handford
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Lying on the ground, the girl’s prom dress, the color of champagne, shimmers in the dying light. A corsage of wilting pink sweetheart roses decorates her wrist. She is perfectly still, like a delicate china doll, trapped forever in a sleep from which she will never wake....

When a call comes in about a young girl found dead at a high school prom—her life drained away from a fatal stab wound—Detective Josie Quinn drops everything to attend the scene. Taking in the girl’s neatly braided hair, Josie feels a flicker of recognition. But no one comes forward to identify this innocent child, murdered on what should have been the happiest night of her life. 

Trawling missing-persons files, Josie realizes where she has seen the girl before. Gemma Farmer disappeared a few months ago, shattering her family. But why would her body appear now, on her 16th birthday? Josie’s only clue is the five neat little cuts on Gemma’s pale arm. Days later, another missing girl shows up, tucked neatly into her bed on the morning of her birthday, her favorite teddy beside her, her skin as cold as ice—and the autopsy reveals scars on her arm matching Gemma’s.

Her head spinning, Josie’s fears the marks are a serial killer’s twisted way of counting his victims. How many other innocent lives have already been lost, and how many more could follow? The case takes a terrifying turn when a local girl goes missing just days before she turns 16. 

With the clock ticking, Josie turns the town upside down in search of answers. But when her own chief comes forward with the missing piece of a devastating puzzle spanning decades, will it be enough to get inside the mind of the most unexpected and elusive killer she has ever encountered, or will another precious life be taken?

An absolutely heart-stopping crime thriller from an Amazon, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal best-selling author. You will be up all night biting your nails and listening! Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Dugoni, and Rachel Caine.

©2022 Lisa Regan (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Watch Her Disappear

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    557
  • 4 Stars
    95
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    525
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    513
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but…..

I rarely review a book that I’ve listened to,
However, The mispronunciation of the word
‘femoral’ every it was used nearly put me over the edge! Then there was ‘rifling’; same objection!
Please have the narrators familiarize themselves with rarely used words.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

NEVER DISAPPOINTS!!!

Lisa Regan never disappoints with her Josie Quinn releases. I love this entire series. With that being said, I totally agree with all the reviews about the narration complaints of mispronunciations. Who in the world hasn't repeatedly heard the words "femoral" and "rifling"???? They aren't rare words and there's absolutely no excuse for mispronouncing either one. Kate Handford is otherwise a very good narrator. If she hasn't read the reviews on this book...she needs to immediately so that the mistake is never repeated.

Regardless, I still highly recommend this entire series! I highly recommend starting with Book 1 because Lisa Regan is a master at developing characters from book to book. You don't want to miss anything!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mispronunciation

The story was great. The narrator mispronouncing femoral every time got on my nerves. Why didn’t anyone catch this before the book was published.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

3

I liked this one. The mystery is well thought out and with my curiosity aroused from the beginning I just had to find out what odd
story about each victim showed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best book yet!

This was exciting, fast paced, wonderful twist at the end and a great story! My favorite Josie book so far. Looking forward to the next one.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

sometimes you worry

when an author has reached a good number of books in a series, let's say over 7, that the more books they write the less engaging the stories will be.. no worries about that with Lisa Regan's writing! wow this was an amazing book, kept me guessing up until the end. I wanted it to end so I knew who did what, but I didn't want it to end because it was such a thrilling and suspenseful story. I can't wait for the next book about Josie Quinn

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Descriptions of torture too graphic for me

Could not finish - I’ll be sending this for return. Book description sounded more like a cozy mystery so I thought this one would be within my limits. But I can’t listen to numerous flashbacks and descriptions of torture on young teen girls. Narrator was decent, although silences between characters’ dialog are long and makes audible dialog choppy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

oh my

Write more Josie Quinn books please!!

loved loved loved these books keep me riveted. excellent

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It's not what you think

(As posted in Goodreads)
What a wild ride! I have read five or six of the other "Detective Josie Quinn" books, and they're all riveting!
Of those I've read, this plot was the most intriguing and involved. The murderers are over a very long time, and there motive and execution both different and interesting.
I loved the book, and the fact that it's "out of order" in terms of my reading does not negatively affect it. Excellent addition!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not the Best

I have read all the books in this series up to this point. When I finish this review I will start book 15. This has been my least favorite of all the books in this series. I felt at times the story was chopped up and sometimes hard to follow. The characters did not share their usual connection and the team did not seem to be as much of a team. Given all that it was still an okay read. In case it isn't evident, I listened to this book instead of reading it and I do believe that some books are just better if read and I think this may just be one such book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A S
  • A S
  • 11-26-22

Good read

loved it.... kept you thinking right to the end. loved the twist at the end.
it was a case you would like to have had a few more chapters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mrs CJ
  • Mrs CJ
  • 11-25-22

Good story

Another excellent episode in this well written series. The narration was up to its usual high standard too. I can highly recommend these books.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Applebee
  • Applebee
  • 11-19-22

Incredibly Boring

I don’t understand all the good reviews. I found this to be very boring . Even with the reveal at the end . By the time I got to the reveal I didn’t care who it was, I just wanted it to end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fee
  • Fee
  • 05-24-22

Difficult to review

Having listened to all the books in the series, it’s difficult to find anything to say. I’m still listening!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Em Foster
  • Em Foster
  • 06-05-22

Next?! I need MORE...

Another brilliant read by Lisa Regan! I cant wait for more, more, more! Never saw this ending coming!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J.R
  • J.R
  • 04-17-22

Nail biting from start to finish

I have read the whole series of the Josie Quinn books. Love this author and the narrator of these books. You get sucked in from page one and won't be able to put it down till you know what happen at the end.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for elizabeth b.
  • elizabeth b.
  • 04-14-22

Oh it was alright I guess

I certainly wouldn’t suggest you listen to it. But perhaps I am being tough. It’s just not a book I would jump up and down about.