• Watcher's Question

  • Life in Exile, Book 2
  • By: Sean Oswald
  • Narrated by: Peter Berkrot
  • Length: 18 hrs and 47 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (585 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Despite monsters and a small army of goblins and skeletons, Dave and family have survived their first few weeks in the harsh world of Eloria. Well, for the most part...

Eight-year-old Sara has been captured by the goblin scout, Krinnk. Nobody is sure if she was taken to be a snack or some twisted desire to protect her. Dave has found a new lease on life, a new connection with his family and a new sense of purpose. Neither he nor Emily are going to let a monster get away with their little girl.

But things are never quite as simple as they seem.

Their victory in the Battle of Eris' Rise has launched the Nelson family onto the stage of politics torn between the human kingdom to the south and the moon elves to the north.

Worse, the powers that created the death knight in the first place have more sinister plans in place and Dave's actions have marked him as an obstacle to be removed. He can only trust that his family, along with the new friends and allies they are making, will be sufficient to help them find their place in this new world.

Continue this epic LitRPG adventure with the second installment in the Life in Exile Series. It's perfect for fans of C.M Carney, Blaise Corvin, and Charles Dean.

©2020 Aethon Books (P)2020 Aethon Audio

What listeners say about Watcher's Question

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    443
  • 4 Stars
    96
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    419
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    379
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Creeping Social Justice

I recommend not wasting a credit on this book. The story and elements are actually good but the author is to social justice for you not to get aggravated when listening. The two MCs Husband and Wife completely lost my support as the author continued to creep in social justice with every chapter. I hate when authors attempt to make books political. Their is a category for that.

29 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Naïve MC with White Savior mentality

So, I gave this a try like the last book and it has only gotten worse. Let me start by saying the story, is nothing new, but the twist on it is refreshing. The issues and problems I have are as follows:
Firstly, the MC Dave and his wife Emily have this white savior mentality that is normally seen in people who do missionary work, or people in the suburban area who volunteer. They think that they’re the only ones who can fix everything. A perfect example of this is Emily wanting to change everything to make it a democracy right away and going so far as to make everything free for her socialist society. The idealism is on a different level, I would think a lawyer in a book or in a real world setting would be more grounded in reality, even in a fantasy world with magic.
Secondly, she despises titles but has two of her own and constantly wants to be treated as just, “one of the guys,” by saying call her by her name, yet she gives people orders. This makes no sense to me at all. She is also very judgmental and if this were on earth, I would venture to call her a bit racist and a lot biased based on people’s race. I also don’t understand why Dave allows her to use strawman arguments to win or make points whenever she is just wrong, as a lawyer he should be able to win these without any issues. She thinks like a child or is written with the mentality of a child, as she ignores logic to the detriment of the group and gets angry whenever she doesn’t get her way instantly.
Thirdly, Dave and family need to stop treating the world as a game and hold his children accountable. They’re able to commit justifiable homicide (murder), but to have them follow simple commands isn’t realistic? Why is that? You have his daughter who runs off into a dungeon, because she wants experience and doesn’t know if the dungeon has some deadly monster in it that could one shot everyone. They constantly complain about their children being in danger, but doesn’t hold them accountable for anything at all, which makes no sense.
Fourthly, I truly hope Sean Oswald isn’t married to a woman with the personality of Emily because you will need a divorce lawyer soon or you must be one miserable man in my personal opinion. Emily is so controlling that it’s unreal that Dave didn’t just leave her as yet to me. If I remember correctly from the last book, the reason why they were all here in this new world was because she forced them all as a family to go driving. I can’t even think of someone being that controlling in my own life because I didn’t think that was even possible. She a helicopter parent and an overbearing wife, who seems like the one to get her husband in debt to just show off because she has to have something or has to do something. An example of this is how she jumps to conclusions in him setting up the town, in the dungeon and in several other areas in the story. I don’t think anything will change in this story unless one of them get killed and the family starts taking things more seriously and not as a game.
Finally, I think this story could be better if some of those logical issues are worked out. These issues being as they are at the forefront of the story, I don’t see how this can be anything but another run of the mill LitRPG that wants to be great, but ends up being subpar.

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Incoherent

I loved the first book but this one makes no sense. I think the author is bouncing back and forth through time but it isn’t stated in the audible version. I’m on chapter 9 and I’m barley following the story, it’s really upsetting that a good story was made in the a muddled mess.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Slight issue overall excellent

Slight issue I am not sure if either A the narrator just doesn’t let the listener know that there is a time lapse or if B the author doesn’t state it There are multiple times up to around chapter 12. that half of multiple chapters will lead up to events that are currently taking place. After chapter 12 I think is about when it seems to catch up full circle with everyone and move forward. Only issue I felt worth mentioning

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Story time jumps

The author tells you the story of a given instants from each character perspective that was involved in that instants. It creates the most confusing story line when MC #1 has already talked about Conflict #1 and has moved on to a completely different part of the timeline and is at conflict #3 but then the story jumps to MC#2 Who is now telling their part of the story of Conflict #1 but they are recalling this story line (the author doesn’t tell you this) as they are on the way to another part of the storyline. Then he throws dreams in there, then at that point I was done listening to the audiobook. Trying to finds where each character was became too annoying. This has to be one of the worst in pacing of Multi storylines that I have ever read or listen too.

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars

chapters are out of order

first 3 chapters are all over the place it's like someone scrambled them all up

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story. The beginning is convoluted but it definitely gets better.

This book is amazing just like the previous book. The only problem is that the beginning is very convoluted. There are multiple flashbacks per character and multiple characters. After you get past those the books gets awesome again. Overall just a great story with a unique take on portal fantasies.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great #2!

19 hours of greatness with Oswald’s new. There are a fair bit of flashbacks, but I believe they were done in a way that helped move the story further. I’ve already pre-ordered book 3 on ebook and await the audio as well.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Pretty good

I like the story. My only problem is with Emily. She just gets on my nerves. I'll still get the next book of course. I just hope she grows into a better person.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good second book

This was a good addition to the story. My only complaint would be the continuous back and forth "cut scenes" from different perspectives that reviewed the last couple of days. I think the story would have gone along much more smoothly with a simple chronological progression.

5 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-29-20

Not as good as the 1st book

Wow Oswalds writing is good but the character dynamic between husband and wife is tedious to say the least. It was so jarring I have to say i might not read the 3rd book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kieran
  • Kieran
  • 05-30-21

Really fun sequel.

Solid sequel, if you liked the first, no brainier. Just about to start the third!