• We Hunt Monsters

  • By: Aaron Oster
  • Narrated by: Shawn Hertel
  • Length: 9 hrs and 33 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (125 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Keith has died 12 times.

After making a deal with a mysterious immortal, he was sent to a new world in hopes of gaining the offered reward - a chance at a better life with his family. However, Keith failed to realize that this deal did not come with an expiration date, no matter how many times he died.

After dying for the dozenth time, Keith renegotiates with the immortal. This new deal will see him sent to the world of Raiah - a world filled with monsters, cowardly monkeys, and a system of magic very similar to the fantasy roleplaying games his brother used to enjoy.

Completing a quest to hunt the most dangerous monsters on the planet is the price Keith will need to pay to regain his old life. It’s a good thing that all of his experiences in his previous lives translate to Skills in this new one because if Keith fails this time, the price he will need to pay will be far steeper.

We Hunt Monsters is a crunchy LitRPG in an epic fantasy setting. Fans of Dakota Krout, Will Wight, and the Monster Hunter games will enjoy this new series by the best-selling author of the Rise to Omniscience and Buryoku series.

©2022 Aaron oster (P)2022 Aaron Oster

What listeners say about We Hunt Monsters

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    90
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    93
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    85
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really?

Someone with acute paranoid schizophrenia can win a Nobel Prize.

Someone who is blind can become a piano icon.

Someone with ALS can become one of the greatest minds of a generation.

Someone with an audible lisp can not make a good book better by reading it as a job.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

strange choice (spoilers kinda)

good read for the most part but for a guy that lived many lives and not wanting to use a sword i don’t see why he don’t use gauntlets. He could add spikes, or brass knuckle like items. Yet he goes for a hammer? that makes no sense to me. His someone that supposed to have life times of experience and can’t even think of a simple solution to his very stupid problem.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

mmmmeeeeehhhh

1) the no bladed weapons is stupid because I can be disarmed or the weapon can get stuck is stupid.
2) the stupid pg cussing poop this, poop on a stick, and the other annoying ones, yes there are others are just lame and ruins the flow of the story, if you don't like cussing don't replace it with pg cussing it is lame
3) there are several time the Mc asks the guide questions that are just moronic, for being 400 some odd yrs, he is a moron
4) not finishing.....returning

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

meh

didnt hit right. can't tell if it was the voice actor or not.. idk.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Breath of Fresh Air!

Not your average litrpg.
not the common sassy MC.
not the common OP MC. (it actually makes sense.)
the danger is ACCTUALLY dangerous and he actually almost dies.
the girl actually acts like a girl and the guy acts like a guy. that exchange where she hits him and he leaves her behind WAS SO REFRESHING IT WAS AWESOME!! it was the best part. it was so small compared to the whole book but it was so SOLID in their personalities. HE wasn't going to die. SHE wasn't going to be disrespected. but HE wasn't going to DIE. and ohhhhh...i loooove ittttt.....the deeper issues of the mind and how when you live that long you become numb and a different person and....ahhhh...its such a good story.

can't wait for book 2!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very Enjoyable!

Was a fun listen! Wish the book would have been longer felt like it was just getting started. Cover Art is pretty amazing, Aaron Oster writes great stories, felt the book should of been named We Hunt Monsters of Man, it was a little misleading but there are some pretty epic monster fights.
Shawn Hertel as a new Narrator on Audible did an amazing job, Smooth transitions between characters and just the right amount of emotion at the right time. Looking forward to listening to more books narrated by him!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

so hopefully I'm part of the 500

The book is good The story is pretty decent I like a lot The use of hammers is different not too many people use that it was only a few things that kind of bothered me the reader has a lisp and you could hear it in every character to a degree so it kind of takes you out of the story just a bit and the whole no cursing thing is pretty stupid if you're in a life or death situation you're not going to say all darn The good thing is this book has plenty of room to grow hopefully it gets a little bit more complex in the character building/effects of his class it would be great to have some fortress building for a main base or something like that but that's just an add-on if you want to take everything over the top but all in all good book very few things I complain about and the things I am complaining about are small

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

just what I was looking for

I have been a fan of the monster hunter series for over 15 years and have went thru over hundreds of litrpg titles. Now I find them both in one. looking forward to more.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

can't unhear the lisp...

Found the story hard to get into and absolutely impossible to stay locked in to.

I found myself nitpicking a bunch of things in this story because I couldn't stay locked in... so all the characters seem shallow, the plot seems cookie cutter, the power system feels lame and ineffective.

... and the main and maybe only character trait the lead character Keith has, is his confusing obstinate stand of not using ANY weapons... The reason we get as the reader is that in his past lives he has died everytime from something going wrong with his weapon (it getting stuck, or being disarmed).
-makes sense as long as you don't think about it past that statement...

Later he gives a different reason to his guild mates: That he can't be disarmed if he wasnt using a weapon in the first place... ... ... ... .... .... .... .... ...

.... ... ... ... ... ... ... ..

.... .. . .. ... .... .. .. .... .... .... seriously?!?!

...If you wanna fight with your hands then being disarmed will only be a benefit.

This is the crux of his entire personality...just dumb.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

looks like a great start

Great start to a new series I hope book 2 is just as good

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 03-30-22

narrator

I think the narrator need to make more of an effort when the characters are in distress he make them sound like there having a casual conversation. other that that its a good book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kineticus
  • Kineticus
  • 03-17-22

Great story, cannot wait formore

enjoyed story and system in play. start of story was a little disorienting as was not what I expected but was a good intro and builds a solid backstop for main character. progression after this was fun and entertaining, I look forward to more.