1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.51

Buy for $28.51

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A 20-year-old crime, an accelerated death penalty, and an elitist family cover-up: Nyla races against the death row clock to save a woman the world is rooting for...and against. Which side will you choose?

Twenty years ago, 18-year-old Francis Quick was convicted of murdering her best friend, Cora King, and sentenced to death. Now the highly debated Accelerated Death Penalty Act has passed, giving Frankie 30 final days to live. Surprising everyone, one of the King family members sets out to challenge the woefully inadequate evidence and potential innocence of Frankie Quick.

The at-first reluctant but soon-fiery Nyla and her unexpected ally - handsome country island boy Sam Stack - bring Frankie’s case to the international stage through her YouTube channel, Death Daze. They step into fame and a hometown battle that someone’s still willing to kill over. But who? The senator? The philanthropist? The pawn shop owner? Nyla’s own mother?

Best advice: Don’t go to family dinner at the Kings’ estate. More people will leave in body bags than on their own two feet. And as for Frankie Quick, she’s a gem...even if she’s guilty.

Praise for We Were Kings:

We Were Kings is the best kind of mystery novel — intelligent and bursting with heart. As Nyla untangled her family’s secrets, the twists left me breathless.” (Brittany Cavallaro, New York Times best-selling author)

“Bingeable. Atmospheric. A book that grabs hold and doesn’t let go. We Were Kings offers a delicious mystery perfect for fans of We Were Liars and A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. I savored every word from beginning to end.” (Caroline George, author of The Summer We Forgot)

  • Young Adult suspense with some romance
  • Stand-alone novel
©2022 Court Stevens (P)2022 Thomas Nelson

More from the same

What listeners say about We Were Kings

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    164
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    79
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    181
  • 4 Stars
    81
  • 3 Stars
    51
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    7
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    147
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    32
  • 1 Stars
    10

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW. GET READY TO BE HOOKED.

Not only did this book not disappoint, it kept me engaged the entire time. Full of twists and turns from beginning to end, I’m sad it ended! Way to go, Court Stevens! Can’t wait to read anything you write.

24 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

This is an amazing book! It keeps you engaged and it doesn’t turn out how you think. So good!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Puh-LEASE Help the Narrator!

To be fair, this narrator is probably young, and some of the words are new to her, but this is part of one’s job as a narrator: rather than mispronouncing a word, look it up! Make sure you are saying it correctly. The first word hit me in the first five minutes of listening, and the fuzz on the back of my neck was up for the rest of the book: penitentiary. Proper pronunciation: [pen] + [i] + [TEN] + [shuh] + [ree]. This young lady had either never heard the word or had never seen it spelled out because she pronounces it REPEATEDLY throughout the book [pen] + [i] + [TEN] + [shee] + [air] + [ee]. Standard American speech, so it’s not a regional accent or anything; plus, I checked to see if there were variations on the pronunciation since it bothered me so much. There are none.

Another word: accoutrement. Ok, this one is a bit off the beaten path, but if you don’t know it, DON’T GUESS! Look it up!!! She pronounced it “uhcooterment.” Painful. Just PAINFUL!

I’ll leave you to discover on your own how she butchers Adirondack.

Any blow of breath, click of the tongue—even severely dry mouth is amplified through the microphone to an Audible listener—particularly when the listener is wearing headphones or AirPods. Ms. Fetters did something I’ve never heard a narrator do or watch ANY person do: she paused between words/sentences to take a breath FROM HER NOSE! Who pauses while speaking; closes their mouth; takes a breath through their nose; then continues speaking??? It’s very odd. Try doing it sometime. I think you’ll find you become dizzy. I realize this may be nitpicky because I am overly sensitive to sounds, but this drove me to absolute distraction.

Ok, all that aside.

There was positively no differentiation among character voices. When the male lead and the female lead were involved in conversation, I had no idea when one stopped and the other began speaking. I had to listen for the author’s cues. Ms. Fetters does build voice excitement where necessary and intensity or sadness where due, but overall, the performance is just lacking. Again, based on the number of books she has narrated to date, I would have to chalk this up to inexperience.

As for the story, itself, it was just ok. It could have been so much more. As another reviewer mentioned, there could have been so much (or ANY) information about life in the penitentiary. I realize some had to be held for the great reveal at the end, but others should have built up—like Sam—the male lead; we know so very little about him, or even how he feels most of the time. Quite frankly, There were a quite a few characters with different agendas thrown into the mix, but most of their background stories were either under-developed, or not developed at all; we did not have a good sense of who they were or why they were doing what they were doing. I suspect Ms. Stevens had it all plotted out in her head before setting pen to paper, but was not fully able to convey those concepts to her readers, unfortunately—at least not to this reader (listener).

My final word is regarding the ending (don’t worry—no spoilers). The whole book builds on a theme and builds on a theme, and then at the end it seemed as though Ms. Stevens looked down in her notebook and said, “Oh gosh! I only have two blank pages left! I better wrap this up quickly, because there’s no more paper left in the world!” So it just went finish this. Finish this. Ok, The end. I have been surprised by endings before—in clever, oh-wow-I-wish-I’d-thought-of-that ways, but never like this where it’s hurry up and finish—get it over, already (though I might secretly have been thinking just that). What a disappointment after giving 8 hours of my time.

Oh well, they can’t ALL be 5 stars, but at least they know what to strive for next time.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring and confusing

Like the previous reviews have stated, this reads more like a teen novel. Didn't care for the narration at all. It is all over the place confusing, very unrealistic and cheesy. I’m returning it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not realistic, maybe okay for YA audience

There are a lot of characters to keep track of, making the audio format a bit challenging if you are casually listening. The big reveal at the end was over the top imho. Maybe more middle school level of writing. Not recommended for adults.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Timely content

This book touches on some very timely issues Americans are dealing with right now: there is human trafficking, substance misuse (alcohol and meth), kidnapping, and murder. Plot twists were great and I will definitely listen to this one again!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Clever Mystery, Appealing Main Character

This is a mystery story involving family, wealth and misdeeds that ruin lives. It takes the courage of one young woman to make things right. Page-turner! Recommended!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen! Lots of twists throughout

Great story. Twists peppered throughout with many in the last few chapters. Will look at other books by Court Stevens.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Play, Listen, Repeat !

My headline says it all....I Loved this book. Well written and the narrator was fantastic also. I was happy about this purchase and my time won't be wasted when I read it again and again.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Childish

Not for me. Intro sounded much more interesting than it was. Almost finished it but just couldn’t force myself any longer.