• Weapons

  • The King & Slater Series, Book 1
  • By: Matt Rogers
  • Narrated by: Kevin Kenerly
  • Length: 11 hrs and 8 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (607 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $34.99

Buy for $34.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Jason King and Will Slater, the two most lethal operatives in government history, are out on their own.

They’ve been through their personal journeys into hell, but they unite in New York City as brothers in arms. So begins a vigilante crusade against the city’s morally bankrupt inhabitants. 

But their private war doesn’t last long. Sometimes you can’t escape the past, no matter how hard you try. They’re revisited by old government contacts with an agenda, and soon enough they’re fighting tooth and nail to prevent the destabilization of the entire country. Outnumbered, overwhelmed, beat down, battered, broken - it's just another day at the office.

©2019 Matt Rogers (P)2020 Podium Audio

What listeners say about Weapons

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    360
  • 4 Stars
    146
  • 3 Stars
    68
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    13
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    369
  • 4 Stars
    116
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    331
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    27
  • 1 Stars
    13

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really enjoyable.

If you like action and can suspend disbelief a bit, this book is for you. I enjoyed it very much. Good narration, great characters. My type of book. I will get all in this series. There may be 1 or 2 people like this in the World but I doubt it so don’t expect too much reality but good non the less.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing

I bought this book due to the very good reviews and since it’s the same genre I enjoy - special agent former military special ops type characters. Greaney & Hurwitz are the leaders in this group. But this book I found far too ridiculous to be even slightly believable. The story isn’t “painted” well. Lacks good description. I couldn’t even make it to halfway before putting it down. I won’t get another by him.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Who talks like this narrator?

I truly enjoy the series and the storylines. Its a great listen to be sure with only one major issue at least for me.....and that is the narrator. Its almost like this guy took his speaking lessons straight from William Shatners early years of Star Trek. Speak 8 words, pause, continue, pause, and so forth. It really screws with the flow of the story and to the authors credit the only reason I put up with it is that the stories are really good. To be honest the narrator has a good voice but he needs to stop narrating in small chunks of text the way he does. Continuing to finish the series either way.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

love!

I loke that there is a lady in the story, girl power. keep them coming

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Four stars is not a bad rating I LIKED THE BOOK

In today’s world everyone thinks badly of less than five star rating. If that’s the case, why even have one two three or four stars?

I really liked them characters in the book and the narration was strong. Just a different story than I’m used to. Solid book
I recommend

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprise

I picked this book at random and WOW!! What a thrill ride! Slater and King are one heck of a team and the work they do is amazing. I’m a fan and going on to the next adventure

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entertainment 101

This is how entertainment should be. No crazy half-based in ideological biases, just action straight forward with knowledge of how fighting, tactics, without an overuse of Fbombs and teen angst guiding the mindset of our two hero’s. They are something of an superhero/antihero force. This not really set in the world of reality, that we know of. But things like this could happen very easily. To not ruin anything, it’s quite tragic the realities of how soldiers coming home from war can go in several directions and this story shows them. That reality in itself is heartbreaking. Respect is given, should never be seen in any other way.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

good read

enjoyed the book but struggled with he narrator at times. good enough to read the next one

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Absolutely awesome

loved it. got the 1st book on the monthly discount sale. Well work paying full price. Kept me engaged whole book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • RJ
  • 05-12-22

Thirty minutes too late!

Jason King and Will Slater were operatives of Black Force, a secret division of the U.S. Government. They were warriors enhanced with super-human reflexes. Their handler was presumed dead. They had been separated for some time but were now back together. Compliments of the Macao Triad, they had more money than they knew what to do with. They owned two penthouse suites on the Upper East Side. Their first endeavor was to hijack a shipment of H&K417 rifles from the Italian Mob. With no contacts and no resources, they were on their own. Slater didn’t like it but King was more resilient. They had a job to do. The destabilization of the U.S. economy is their ultimate target. Removal of the first line of defense is their priority. I am impressed with the Violetta character, she is one interesting and capable woman. The story is fairly complex and compelling. I like the two main characters, they are pretty badass.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 06-04-22

No wonder America is in the mess it is with guns

I’ve never read a book with so much gratuitous violence. Of course it had to be American. It’s not that I don’t read books with violence in what is usually in the context and usually great writing. Is the extremes of the violence which most of the time is unnecessary to the extent which is required. No matter when they’ve completely neutralise their opponent they then go on to murder them. There’s not one good thing about this book which I managed to get to the halfway point and then could not justify the time I was spending on such a twaddle.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Scrinson
  • Scrinson
  • 05-15-22

Utter chunder

Hands down the worst book I've ever had to listen to. Bad storyline, bad performance. Just plain bad. Luckily it's free to subscribers as I'd not have been a happy bear if this had sucked up a credit.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JayDee
  • JayDee
  • 04-14-22

Tosh

If I was told these two weeks "the best fighters on the planet" one more time, I'd have stopped right there. The premis is laughable...two blokes are superhuman..
so attuned to killing that NOTHING can stop them...and of course they are American, and guess what...the bad guys are the Chinese...and the Simple Sydicate
..and dissolution US armed forces...and right wing gangs....Stilted dialogue, predictable plot....don't bother.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dr. R. Taylor
  • Dr. R. Taylor
  • 04-13-22

Very bad and not even amusing with it

Badly plotted macho nonsense. Not worth anyone so time. Banging your head against a brick wall would be more enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David E.
  • David E.
  • 06-28-22

Action packed

If you like plenty action, pretty fast paced, the elite of the elite soldiers, violence in the persuit of justice and a good story then listen to this book. I've listened to 4 books in the series and enjoyed them. Not a book for beta leftys.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for BlueLibran
  • BlueLibran
  • 05-12-22

A more vulnerable read

I liked the fact that this story showed King and Slater in more vulnerable situations and conditions. The story isn't afraid to remind us that everyone is human, everyone can be hurt or feel the effects of nature.

This story also looks more closely at their relationship. Something between brothers and an old married couple.

Loved it.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Robert Brownlie
  • Robert Brownlie
  • 04-13-22

he said, she said, everyone said.

he said, she said, everyone said couldn't get past that and it started to do my nut in.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-12-22

Great story

I hadn't heard of Matt Rogers before I downloaded and listened to this book but I will certainly listen to more now. Great characters and really fast paced action. I think the narrator let's it down as he doesn't sound convincing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ben K Lodhia
  • Ben K Lodhia
  • 10-01-22

Watch Out Mathew Reilly!

Fans of Scarecrow and Jack Reacher rejoice. We have two more head crackers in our midst. Strong characters and fresh stories filled with action and thrills. Glad to see another Aussie author make it. Recommended Read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gege
  • Gege
  • 07-28-22

An epic ho um

I have read several reviews, and as expected it was an ok listen. It has its moments, it has its ups and downs, it has a reasonable story line. I am sure that somewhere deep down it even has Bruce Willis lining up to feature IF it's ever movified.
Yes, I enjoyed it, however.... hmmmm, it is not a reread for me. If this is your genre, you will enjoy it, a bit like a luke warm meat pie. Glad you had it, but could have been better.