1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.00

Buy for $24.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A suspenseful psychological thriller with a shocking twist, perfect for fans of Lia Middleton, BA Paris and Alex Michaelides. 

What if your dream life turned into your worst nightmare?

Lauren is thrilled to escape her old life in London for a fresh start in the countryside with her partner, Paul, and her two stepchildren. Haunted by her past, Lauren knows how lucky she is, in her dream home with her ready-made family. She also knows how much she stands to lose. 

But as Lauren struggles to adjust to motherhood, Paul becomes increasingly distant and as village rumours begin to swirl about the fate of the house's previous occupants, Lauren's fears grow. She wants to trust Paul—she owes everything to him—but how can she, when she can barely trust herself?

©2022 Emily Freud (P)2022 Quercus Editions Limited

What listeners say about What She Left Behind

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great summer read!

Best book I’ve listened to for quite awhile! I highly recommend it! Lots of twists!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Dragged

I listen to many audiobooks and haven’t had one seem to drag out so badly as this one. The first 3/4 of the book are mostly sad, depressing detail of the day to day life with no real plot development. It all happens in the last couple of hours - which were actually pretty good. Just a lot to get through for it to eventually pay off.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Hit and Miss

There are aspects of this story that are very creative, original, and interesting.
The “bones”of the story should make for a thrilling and creepy read.
It had some of these facets but those moments are too short lived and there is not enough variation, changes of scene, not enough description which could’ve made for a truly atmospheric and spooky read.
I am glad I read this book but not so much that I’ll ever do so again, and that is the litmus test in my opinion.
The other issue is how WEAK these two women are, it’s just not believable.
Now, if they were in an active DV situation and were actually in day to day fear for the safety of themselves or their children but that’s not the case here.
I don’t want to give away key elements of the book but these women had options, and didn’t have to just lay down and accept their fate.
That’s all.
It bothers me when women are portrayed in this manor.
The other issue that REALLY got to me is that the narrator made zero attempt to differentiate between these two female characters.
The voice, cadence, inflection, are all the same.
So the reader has no sense whatsoever that this is an entirely different character speaking.
I wanted to love this book, and it is worth one read/listen.
But it could’ve been so much better, the premise is great, and super creepy.
It had all the elements for a fantastic mystery read.
But something is lacking in a way that I can’t quite articulate; it’s flat.
I will give this author another shot in the future, but I feel like there should have been stronger development of all of these characters and more of a commitment to really describe the situation, the house, the village, there should’ve been more effort to transport the reader into an experience.
Bottom line: worth a listen, it’s entertaining.
But falls somewhat short and becomes a bit “one note” from the halfway point forward.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicks
  • Nicks
  • 08-03-22

Ridiculous

Hard to say exactly why I found it ridiculous - without spoiling it for future readers!
But anyone who reaches this part (3/4 into the book) will know exactly why...and roll their eyes with a sigh. For the first 3/4 of the book it's a very slow build up, which somehow makes it worse. Its a Not Recommended from me! Her other book 'My Best Friends Secret' is much better.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sonrisa Lee
  • Sonrisa Lee
  • 07-25-22

Slow but good

It was only through other reviews that I stuck with this but it was worth it. Very slow at the beginning, good twist though.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 06-19-22

Really excellent plot

A slow start, but turns into one of the best books I've ever listened to. Excellent narration and unexpected and totally gripping ending.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 05-20-22

Brilliant book

Couldn’t put this down. Very cleverly written and draws you in right from the beginning. Intriguing twists. Would definitely recommend well done Emily