1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Where the Truth Lies  By  cover art

Where the Truth Lies

By: Anna Bailey
Narrated by: Natalie Simpson
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $27.93

Buy for $27.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Gillian Flynn and The Girls, a dazzling literary-crime debut about the disappearance of a teenage girl in a claustrophobic, remote, and fractured Colorado town.

When 17-year-old Abigail goes missing, her best friend, Emma, compelled by the guilt of leaving her only friend alone at the Tall Bones party that night, sets out to find the truth about what happened to Abi. But as the details unfold, the festering secrets and longstanding resentments of the people of Whispering Ridge, Colorado, begin to surface with devastating consequences.

Among those secrets are those harbored by the members of Abi's family: her older brother, Noah, who has an unworldly yet horribly dangerous love for the handsome Rat, a Romanian immigrant who recently entered town; her 12-year-old brother, Jude, who is filled with a shining goodness yet walks with a stick because his father threw him down the stairs while their mother, Dolly, turned away; and, Dolly, who married the bible-bashing Samuel on a whim, and now, with a frozen heart, watches her children unravel. 

Dark and atmospheric, gripping and tragic, Where the Truth Lies is an unforgettable debut by a brilliant new talent.

©2021 Anna Bailey (P)2021 Doubleday Canada

Critic Reviews

"Anna Bailey's debut is irresistible, a compelling and nuanced psychological thriller suffused with small town prejudice and dark family secrets." (Paula Hawkins, best-selling author of The Girl on the Train and Into the Water)

 "Debut novelist Bailey takes a familiar setup - a teenage girl mysteriously disappears during a party in the woods - and turns it into a suspenseful whodunit told in vivid, sensory prose.... Bailey successfully renders character archetypes (hypocritical pastor, abusive veteran father, beaten wife, outcast immigrant) in three-dimensional nuance.... The simmering tension keeps the pages turning in this slow burn of a story." (Publishers Weekly)

"Eerie.... Cleverly written, Anna Bailey's debut shines a light on the darker and more oppressive side of small-town society. Exploring strong themes including abuse and religion, the novel has an almost Gothic feel." (The Independent)

What listeners say about Where the Truth Lies

Average Customer Ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.