adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Brimming with romance, adventure and vivid historical detail, Christina Courtenay does for the Vikings what Diana Gabaldon's Outlander and Clanlans does for Scottish history. The best-selling author of Echoes of the Runes spins a thrilling and epic new timeslip tale, perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine.

Time is no barrier for a love that is destined to be.

When jewellery Designer Sara Mattsson is propelled back to the ninth century, after cutting herself on a Viking knife she uncovers at an archaeological dig, she is quick to accept what has happened to her. For this is not the first Sara has heard of time travel. 

Although acutely aware of the danger she faces when she loses the knife - and with it her way to return to her own time - this is also the opportunity of a lifetime. What better way to add authenticity to the Viking and Anglo-Saxon motifs used in her designs? 

As luck has it, the first person Sara encounters is Rurik Eskilsson, a fellow silversmith, who is also no stranger to the concept of time travel. Agreeing that Sara can accompany him to Jorvik, they embark on a journey even more perilous than one through time. But Fate has brought these two kindred spirits together across the ages for a reason....

©2021 Christina Courtenay (P)2021 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What listeners say about Whispers of the Runes

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Munchkin1971
  • Munchkin1971
  • 01-09-22

Rinse and repeat...don't waste your money

I'm on chapter 3 in this book and it's been pretty much copy and paste of the previous book. I gave the last book the benefit of the doubt, but now I wish I hadn't. Book 2...archaeologist's daughter finds a magic brooch that takes her back in time. Book 3 best friend of said daughter now finds a magic knife to take her back in time and meets the friend's brother in law. So my guess is book 4 involves Maddison (sister of original time traveller) finding her way back in time to the third brother, using a magical teaspoon? Toasting fork? For crying out loud, could the author not have used just a bit more initiative and originality??? I mean, is she's 15 years old, then maybe she could be forgiven for writing the same book X amount of times, just changing VERY few details, but come on!!! Charging people £8 per book in a series of however many, that ARE ALL THE SAME is poor business. And the author should be ashamed at churning out the same storyline over and over. I HAD planned on reading the whole series but I will NOT be wasting any more money on Christina Courtenay. She's a con artist.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pollypocket
  • pollypocket
  • 09-07-21

A good listen

Beautifully read, story was ok,but the end was a wee bit disappointing. I will be buying the third book in this series.