1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

She’s Black, he’s White. She’s a workaholic, he’s the definition of laid-back. He’s into hiking, and she can just about make it to the bar in a pair of stilettos. Could they be any more different?

Nikki has it all - a great career, a gorgeous apartment, and a boyfriend who is basically perfect. Okay, maybe things have grown a little too comfortable - missionary and an early night, anyone? - but Nikki can handle boring if it means keeping hot and wholesome Bron in her life.

But then, the unthinkable happens. Bron walks out one evening before Nikki’s even started her dinner. Left sobbing into her soup, Nikki’s best friends waste no time throwing her back into the deep end of the dating pool. But the grass is definitely not greener in the land of Singledom. Sure, a girl has needs, but even good sex isn’t worth getting hit on doing the downward dog in a yoga class. Is it time to blow the cobwebs off the pink plastic lover she’s exiled to the back of her sock drawer?

But then Nikki meets Mike - who she really, really doesn’t have anything in common with. Not only is he the only White guy she’s ever dated, he’s kind of a dork...and a terrible dancer. That doesn’t stop him from being sexy though, with his tousled brown hair and goofy smile, in a strictly no-strings-attached, this-is-definitely-not-serious way. Because two people as different as Nikki and Mike could never actually make a relationship work, right?

Everyone says opposites attract, but Nikki is about to discover there are no rules when it comes to love. And when Bron comes knocking, begging to take her back, the rule book goes right out the window. What if Nikki really needs to find herself before she finds her man?

This sweet, sexy, feel-good novel is perfect for fans of Talia Hibbert, The Friend Zone and The Hating Game.

©2022 LeeSha McCoy (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.
  • Unabridged Audiobook
  • Categories: Romance

What listeners say about White Boyfriend

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

NOT a romance

This book needs to be recategorized. It was absolutely not a romance and nothing about it was remotely comedic. The main character was SO INCREDIBLY annoying until the very last chapter. This book should have been called “How to Grow a Backbone” or “Learning How to Have a Personality and Conviction” because it had very little to do with her relationship with Mike. When it came to talking about that relationship, this book was disappointing on multiple counts as well. First, as a Black woman who regularly dates white men, I don’t think her initial hesitations about branching out were unfounded but this book didn’t even scratch the surface of what really causes friction in interracial relationships. Second, there was zero steam and for all they talked about sex and other spicy things, when the moments finally came THEY SKIPPED RIGHT PAST THEM! Finally, the ending. OHMYGOD. I am so frustrated that I bought this without having read the reviews first and even more frustrated that the synopsis did such a piss poor job at explaining what the book was actually about. Had I known this was a lot more eat pray love and not at all a steamy interracial romance, I wouldn’t have gone into it expecting rom-com and likely wouldn’t have been so hugely disappointed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Misleading Title

White Boyfriend by Leesha McCoy narrated by Jordan Frazier

The title was misleading. It should have been called “Finding Oneself”
Main character Nikki eventually stands up to her overbearing father and stops trying to please her parents.

Her boyfriend of years breaks up with her and then she dates Mike a white guy for the first time. They dated for a little while but I never got the impression that he was her “boyfriend” . The usual “stereotypes” about white men are unnecessarily included. Then Nikki decides she needs to find herself so she and Mike stop dating. So her HEA is without “the white boyfriend“.

The most positive aspect of the whole story was her relationship with her three girlfriends. They were fun and loyal.
 
The narration by Jordan Frazier was good.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unexpected

While hoping for the HEA, this was a good read for those needing to find themselves after a loss.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

great narration, but story was disappointing

Disappointing end
Unlikable main character, but loved all the other characters. Literally all of them were better and more interesting than her.
The story was more about her daddy issues than the boyfriend.
If you like stories with steamy romance, this book is not for you.
I wish the story followed her friends instead because they were far more interesting.
I had a really hard time finishing the book because honestly, I lost interest in the last few chapters.
The things I did like about the book, other than the side characters, were the ideas about mental wellness, meditation, and finding inner peace. Also it has a few really funny moments.
I just wish the main character wasn't so judgmental, ignorant, and whiny. She said things to Mike that were kind of offensive and if the roles were reversed we'd all hate him.
I do love the writer's style and she's very talented. I just wasn't a fan of this story.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Title is unnecessary

Though the book is well written and narrated the title is misleading and unnecessary. Rather than focusing on empowering women to focus on ourselves after a breakup it focuses on the fact that after she was dumped she chose to date a white man.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

My Girlfriends

This book is not a Romance it definitely more about her friends than her white boy friend. We see him maybe 3 times the first 4/5 hours and not even a kiss. There is a break up, self discovery, girlfriends and a white boy. I returned it.