• Winterlong

  • By: Mason Cross
  • Narrated by: Eric Meyers
  • Length: 12 hrs and 53 mins
  • 4.6 out of 5 stars (1,491 ratings)

Try our newest plan – access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Plus plan is $7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.97

Buy for $27.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A deadly game of cat and mouse filled with high-stakes tension, Winterlong is the must-hear new thriller for fans of Jack Reacher, Alex Cross, and Jason Bourne.

It's been five years since Carter Blake parted ways with the top-secret government operation Winterlong. They brokered a deal at the time: he'd keep quiet about what they were doing, and in return he'd be left alone. But news that one of Blake's old allies is dead, a man who agreed to the same deal, means only one thing: something has changed and Winterlong is coming for him.

Emma Faraday, newly appointed head of the secret unit, is determined to tie up loose ends. And Blake is a very loose end. He's been evading them for years, but finally they've picked up his trace. Blake may be the best there is at tracking down people who don't want to be found, but Winterlong taught him everything he knows. If there's anyone who can find him - and kill him - it's them.

It's time for Carter Blake to up his game.

©2017 Mason Cross (P)2017 Blackstone Audio, Inc.

What listeners say about Winterlong

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,062
  • 4 Stars
    344
  • 3 Stars
    71
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,059
  • 4 Stars
    257
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    962
  • 4 Stars
    305
  • 3 Stars
    67
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best so far of the Carter Blake series

Although I was originally looking to try and fill the gap between Reacher novels, I have grown to really enjoy this series. The main character, Carter Blake, is like a blend of Jonathan Quinn and Jack Reacher who is always mobile and sometimes a reluctant assassin/savior wearing the white hat.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WINTERLONG EXCELLENT EXCELLENT EXCELLENT!!!!

This book is EXCELLENT!! Just in case you didn't see it my headline.
I really enjoyed the first two books in this series (Hunting Season and The Samaritan). Both of those books hinted at a very secretive past with a shadowy organization. The first two also allude to reasons this organization has decided to allow him to live. Carter Blake is a man with a moral code who does not believe in collateral damage of innocents.
This book surprised me by answering all the questions brought up in the first two books. Winterlong turns out to be the name of the program he was in, it is also the same agency that wants to kill him. The story goes back and forth from past to present as the agency once again is hot on his trail and killing those associated with him. Two others left the agency when he did and they have been murdered even with their insurance.
To complicate things just a little more Carter has an unwilling travel partner. A mange has apprehended who stole some valuable software from a startup company. Now he can't let him go because of his own ethics, he doesn't want him to become collateral damage.
The book comes to an explosive yet satisfying ending with the promise of future books.
Eric Myers gives an excellent performance. His voice really fits the characters.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

42 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Plausible Deniability

Or Deniably Plausible

I keep suffering through these Mason Cross books because of the positive reviews.The character is likable and the story line has promise - But it just doesn't have any real substance. I didn't feel invested in this story at all. It's not like I couldn't wait to get back to this story after having to stop or anything. It's like eating food to survive instead of enjoying it. I bought the Audio Book and consumed it just to keep my brain active while working. I wouldn't say I enjoyed it.

J

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very outstanding suspense thriller!!

Winterlong is the third outstanding novel in the Carter Blake suspense series by Mason Cross. All three easily earn 5 stars. These novels should probably be recognized as of the espionage genre. Winterlong answers several questions about Carters Blake's past that The Killing Season ans The Samaritan left cloaked in secrecy. In this novel the author uses flashbacks, mostly to Carter Blake in Afghanistan, to answer some of the open questions from earlier in the series. Narration by Eric Meyers is stellar.

I very highly recommend Winterlong, but suggest listening to The Killing Season and The Samaritan first.

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

To say this is really good is an understatement!

Any additional comments?

This is the third book in a series although this one can be read as a standalone some brief discussions in this book reference action from the first two.As for this book and the whole series it is top shelf characters, action and narration I just can not recommend this book and series enough. Fans of Ben Coes and Tom Wood will feel right at home.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disjointed and hard to follow.

The first book was much better. Felt like a bunch of ideas dumped into one book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

this book in the series ties up some loose ends from prior books. it was very good all the way to the end.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent!

Exciting, frustrating and exhilarating! A cross between James Bond and Jack Reacher. Quite Enjoyable series!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful adventure.

A very refreshing book. A wonderful exciting adventure, warm, intense, satisfying in all ways. And I’m picky!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a little confusing, but draws together eventually

The book is generally well done, but the early parts switch time frame and point of view too often and with too little differentiation for an easy listen. Once it all gets straightened out, though, it's an engaging story with relatable characters, though the McGuffin is a bit of a hoary concept to hang a narrative on these days. It could have been about 15 minutes shorter, too, but all in all it's a book that will get me to listen to another by this author.

1 person found this helpful