1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Winterwood  By  cover art

Winterwood

By: Shea Ernshaw
Narrated by: Emma Lysy,Mark Turetsky
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Deluxe edition with special embellishments on first printing only.  

From New York Times best-selling author of The Wicked Deep comes a haunting romance perfect for fans of Practical Magic, where dark fairy tales and enchanted folklore collide after a boy, believed to be missing, emerges from the magical woods - and falls in love with the witch determined to unravel his secrets.  

Be careful of the dark, dark wood.... 

Especially the woods surrounding the town of Fir Haven. Some say these woods are magical. Haunted, even.  

Rumored to be a witch, only Nora Walker knows the truth. She and the Walker women before her have always shared a special connection with the woods. And it’s this special connection that leads Nora to Oliver Huntsman - the same boy who disappeared from the Camp for Wayward Boys weeks ago - and in the middle of the worst snowstorm in years. He should be dead, but here he is alive, and left in the woods with no memory of the time he’d been missing.  

But Nora can feel an uneasy shift in the woods at Oliver’s presence. And it’s not too long after that Nora realizes she has no choice but to unearth the truth behind how the boy she has come to care so deeply about survived his time in the forest, and what led him there in the first place. What Nora doesn’t know, though, is that Oliver has secrets of his own - secrets he’ll do anything to keep buried, because as it turns out, he wasn’t the only one to have gone missing on that fateful night all those weeks ago.  

For as long as there have been fairy tales, we have been warned to fear what lies within the dark, dark woods and in Winterwood, New York Times best-selling author Shea Ernshaw shows us why.

©2019 Shea Ernshaw (P)2019 Audible, Inc.

What listeners say about Winterwood

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    89
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    141
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    101
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well knit

This is a solid YA book. I was a bit bored by what I felt to be heavy-handed foreshadowing, but I am a cranky old reader who has been through enough stories to see the well worn paths. I think this book may hold some fun twists for less grizzled readers. The plot elements wove together nicely at the end. Inner and outer conflicts were satisfyingly resolved. I liked this one. I will be recommending it to the young readers in my life.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Like pulling teeth

I was really excited for this book. It's 100% my interest and aesthetic. But oh my goodness. Our main character is deeply introspective which isn't normally a bad thing, but she drags the narrative out so far. Not far in, she has what could be a quick conversation with another character about staying the night. It's a yes or no question, right? Wrong. We get paragraph after paragraph of inner monologue.
She is also deeply buried in her identity of "the girl who lives across the lake". She constantly feels alienated and completely different from other people. This comes up very frequently and much narrative is centered around it.
I just couldn't finish it and it's a shame.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • GD
  • 10-03-22

Good fall read

It was a good read for October but not the best book you’ll ever read.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The ending was great!

It took me a few chapters to truly be interested but overall I really enjoyed the book and I loved the unexpected twist at the end!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible narrator killed the story for me.

Been enjoying Shea Earnshaw's books lately, but the female narrator in this one is awful. The Male narrator is fine. Not sure if I was hating the female character, or if it was just the narrator annoying me so much.

Either way, DNF this audiobook. Going to get the paperback from the library instead.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ok story too wordy

The story is a great idea but it is so over wordy. The narrators are okay. okay not great. I will say the end makes it worth the whole book. I fast forwarded a lot to get through it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Spellbinding

I rank this among one of the best books I’ve read. Taking you down a path twisting and turning and you think you have it figured out but no, not even close! I didn’t foresee the ending happening the way it did! A must read!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprising

It took me the longest time to finish this book but it was amazing 👏 I liked the story very much. It made me second guess myself about what I thought was going on. highly recommend this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I think this author may be one of my new favorites. This story is haunting and though I guessed the mystery early on, the hints are subtle with a word here or a line there, and just enough red herrings to keep you guessing. The prose is lyrical and creates beautiful imagery.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Captivating

I wasn't ready for this wonderful roller coaster ride but loved every minute of it.