• World’s End

  • The Lanny Budd Novels, Book 1
  • By: Upton Sinclair
  • Narrated by: Bronson Pinchot
  • Length: 26 hrs and 56 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (32 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $53.87

Buy for $53.87

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed author of The Jungle: the first in a Pulitzer Prize-winning historical saga about the son of an American arms dealer during WWI

Lanning “Lanny” Budd spends his first 13 years in Europe, living at the center of his mother’s glamourous circle of friends on the French Riviera. In 1913, he enters a prestigious Swiss boarding school and befriends Rick, an English boy, and Kurt, a German. The three schoolmates are privileged, happy, and precocious - but their world is about to come to an abrupt and violent end.

When the gathering storm clouds of war finally burst, raining chaos and death over the continent, Lanny must put the innocence of youth behind him; his language skills and talent for decoding messages are in high demand. At his father’s side, he meets many important political and military figures, learns about the myriad causes of the conflict, and closely follows the First World War’s progress. When the bloody hostilities eventually conclude, Lanny joins the Paris Peace Conference as the assistant to a geographer asked by President Woodrow Wilson to redraw the map of Europe.

Perfect for fans of The Winds of War, World’s End is the magnificent opening chapter of a monumental series that brings the first half of the 20th century to vivid life. A thrilling mix of history, adventure, and romance, the Lanny Budd Novels are a testament to the breathtaking scope of Upton Sinclair’s vision and his singular talents as a storyteller.

©1940 Upton Sinclair (P)2022 Blackstone Publishing

What listeners say about World’s End

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

didn't finish

I can't say truly about the ste the story but I could not tolerate the patronizing sing song narration.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Worth reading and re-reading

This intriguing novel takes place in the years just before, during and after the first World War. Lanny Budd is the illegitimate son of a wealthy American munitions manufacturer who lives with his mother, a celebrated beauty, on the Riviera and in Paris. He has a knack for meeting people and making friends, and in this way some fascinating historical personages make their way unobtrusively into the story -- not necessarily those you might have heard of, but people whose actions helped to shape their time. Politics and philosophy are dealt with thematically but not intrusively. Bronson Pinchot does a great job with a book not many narrators could do justice to.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Historical Novel

Great addition to Audible. Great Performance by Bronson Pinchot. I hope they record the rest of the series. Glad Audible is reaching back into these forgotten classics

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good

I enjoyed and look forward to listening to book 2 in the series.the narrater was excellent.

1 person found this helpful