1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.26

Buy for $15.26

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Winter was the only season every Lake-Lander feared in this action-packed and thought-provoking debut, for fans of Patrick Ness, Marcus Sedgwick, Dread Nation and The Walking Dead.

The islands of Lake Wranglestone are a safe haven in a world filled with the Restless Dead. But as the lake freezes over, there’s nothing to stop them from crossing the ice.

Peter has never really felt at home in a place where practicality and grit are valued above all else. He’s nothing like Cooper - the boy he’s always watched from afar. But when he is ordered to join Cooper out on the mainland, they find more than just each other.

There they unearth a dark secret about Wranglestone’s past. One that forces the pair to question everything they’ve ever known.

©2020 Darren Charlton (P)2022 Bolinda Publishing Pty Ltd

Critic Reviews

"Fresh and chilling and totally immersive." (Sunday Irish Independent)

"Zombie thrills combine with an achingly tender gay love story in this unusual debut." (The Observer)

"Chilling, atmospheric and beautifully written, Wranglestone is a thrilling apocalyptic tale with a tender love story at its heart." (Gabriel Dylan, author of Whiteout)

More from the same

Author

Narrator

What listeners say about Wranglestone

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    23
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An interesting concept with likable characters

My biggest issue with this book is the religion of words and phrases. If I have to hear “turned ‘round” one more time… But the characters are likable and the romance is cute and standard for a YA novel. The concept and explanation of the zombies is a fun new take and there are some horrific concepts to really think about.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

WOW

Wranglestone was one of the best books I’ve experienced in a while. This book has brought me chuckles and warmed my heart, while also having me cry happy and sad tears. Thank you for this magical work that I will always cherish Darren. I can’t wait to catch up with the boys in September.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good surprises and a great story

No formulaic coming-of-age queer romance here. You will feel acceptance without asking for it. Without spoiling the story, really enjoyed the undoing of certain tropes. Can’t wait for the next book!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Undesigned
  • Undesigned
  • 06-06-22

Exciting, transporting and strangely romantic

The richly-imagined, immersive setting grounds the ever-present threat of the 'restless ones'.

Unexpectedly, it's also a wonderfully representative story. The author foregoes the stereotypical tropes of LGBT romance, in favour of a charming, understated realism.

The book delivers much more than you might expect from a post-apocalyptic thriller. I was fully invested in the characters and the landscape. And I'm looking forward to revisiting this world - hopefully through many more installments.

The audiobook was very well narrated. The actor has a soft, warm tone and their characterisations are varied without being distracting.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-13-22

it felt like you hardly got to know the characters

It felt like you hardly got to know the characters as the characters are quite underdeveloped and forgettable. not only that, the relationship between cooper and Peter was way too fast. They go from hardly having anything to do with one another to confessing their love. They've know each over since childhood yet we don't know anything about their memories together or how the relationship blossomed between the two but that being said,they are still sweet together.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marc Chappell
  • Marc Chappell
  • 03-29-22

meh

I absolutely adored the book and wanted to try listen to it on the go, but honestly couldn't. He did a great job, it's just not the voice I like to listen to ¯\_(ツ)_/¯