1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Ymir  By  cover art

Ymir

By: Rich Larson
Narrated by: Alan Medcroft
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A gripping, far-future retelling of Beowulf from an award-winning author, perfect for fans of Richard K. Morgan. 

Yorick never wanted to see his homeworld again. He left Ymir two decades ago, with half his face blown off and no love lost for the place. But when his employer's mines are threatened by a vicious alien machine, Yorick is shipped back home to hunt it.

All he wants is to do his job and get out. Instead, Yorick is pulled into a revolution brewing beneath Ymir's frozen surface, led by the very last person he wanted to see again—the brother who sent him off in pieces twenty years ago.

©2022 Rich Larson (P)2022 Orbit

Critic Reviews

“Endlessly inventive, richly textured, and pricked with poignant beauty. If Alien met Neuromancer, and the mutant progeny was birthed in the amniotic fluid of pure myth, Ymir would be the result.”—Alvaro Zinos-Amaro, Hugo and Locus finalist
"[Ymir] hurtles forward at dizzying speeds on an engine of jagged gorgeous writing. I adored Yorick, with his broken heart and his bad attitude and worse decisions...I ached with every twist and turn of his hideous beautiful journey."
-Sam J Miller, Nebula-award-winning author of Blackfish CitySam J. Miller, Nebula award-winning author of Blackfish City
“Sci-fi thriller at its ice-cold coolest... Propulsive, terrifying, and human.”—Tamsyn Muir, New York Times best-selling author of the Locked Tomb series

What listeners say about Ymir

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • PK
  • 07-22-22

Best piece of writing I've read in years

Rich Larson's world and character creation is unparalleled. This isn't an old, recycled, worn out story; it's full of excitement and intrigue the whole way through. If you like Black Mirror, Love Death & Robots, or are just into incredible, fresh sci-fi you've GOT to give this a try. I couldn't put it down even if I wanted to.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for James C
  • James C
  • 08-28-22

Beautiful, dark, cyberpunk

I loved Ymir and finished it in a couple of days! It's beautifully written in Rich Larson's distinctive style. The characters are vivid, original and believeable. The protagonist, Yorick, really sucked me in - he's grim, complex and surprisingly compelling for such an "antihero" type character. The setting is dark, gritty and real - think oil rigs/small towns in the Arctic. I also loved the AI hotel - it adds some humour to the story, and for me it evoked The Raven Hotel from Altered Carbon.

I switched back and forth between the ebook and audiobook throughout, and can highly recommend both. With its excellent narration, the audiobook brought an extra dimension to the characters in my mind and helped them to jump off the page even more when I went back to reading.