adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $30.79

Buy for $30.79

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

“Hammer is an expert at both tugging heartstrings and keeping the reader utterly immersed in a world of hope and heartbreak. A great new voice in women’s fiction.” (Kristin Harmel, number one international best-selling author of The Winemaker's Wife)

The heartbreaking, yet hopeful, story of a mother and daughter struggling to be a family without the one person who holds them together - a perfect summer listen for fans of Jojo Moyes and Marisa de los Santos.

Alexis Gold knows how to put the "work" in working mom. It's the "mom" part that she's been struggling with lately. Since opening her own advertising agency three years ago, Alexis has all but given up on finding a good work/life balance. Instead, she's handed over the household reins to her supportive, loving partner, Tommy. While he's quick to say they divide and conquer, Alexis knows that Tommy does most of the heavy lifting - especially when it comes to their teenage daughter, CeCe. 

Their world changes in an instant when Tommy receives a terminal cancer diagnosis, and Alexis realizes everything she's worked relentlessly for doesn't matter without him. So Alexis does what Tommy has done for her almost every day since they were 12-year-old kids in Destin, Florida - she puts him first. And when the only thing Tommy wants is to spend one last summer together at "their" beach, she puts her career on hold to make it happen...even if it means putting her family within striking distance of Tommy’s ex, an actress CeCe idolizes.

But Alexis and Tommy aren’t the only ones whose lives have been turned inside out. In addition to dealing with the normal ups and downs that come with being a teenager, CeCe is also forced to confront her feelings about Tommy’s illness - and what will happen when the one person who’s always been there for her is gone. When the magic of first love brings a bright spot to her summer, CeCe is determined not to let her mother ruin that for her, too. 

As CeCe’s behavior becomes more rebellious, Alexis realizes the only thing harder for her than losing Tommy will be convincing CeCe to give her one more chance.  

You and Me and Us is a beautifully written novel that examines the unexpected ways loss teaches us how to love. 

©2020 Alison Hammer (P)2020 HarperAudio

What listeners say about You and Me and Us

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    315
  • 4 Stars
    141
  • 3 Stars
    54
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    342
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    289
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful Story

I didn’t know what to expect from a new author and I was nothing short of amazed. The journey the author takes you through covers all aspects of love and loss. The way Alison Hammer writes is with true ease. The characters are not manufactured, they are real. This is how you would expect a loving partner to react to love and loss, struggling to balance work and home life, with a teenage daughter coming into her own. I couldn’t put this book down and truly hope it turns into a feature film!

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Truly wonderful

I adored this book. A beautiful story, though I wouldn't have ninded if CeeCee was a little bit less hateful. She was truly horrible and even just a little less venom might have been good. That said, amazing book and you should download now! so credit worthy.

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trite cliche all the way

What terrible, elementary writing. Totally empty of any solid ideas or characterizations. Used every cliche and trite situation possible. Finished less than 30 minutes and couldn’t waste any more time hoping for it to get better.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

I hate to disparage anyone who writes...

...and really the writing was good. The story was horrible. A beloved father and partner is dying and his companions as he prepares for the journey are two of the most selfish, petty, unactualized characters I think I’ve ever read.
He was a saint, unrealistic, and the mother daughter were just horrible. And really, if the father had been that perfect he would’ve worked to forge a better relationship.
When he wants to spend his last summer alive where he grew up they actually resist and whine and complain.
Seriously, this book could’ve had so much more depth to it. Instead when the man, WHO IS DYING, handles it his way by making light they get mad at him. I just can’t, just thinking about it again reminds me of the 10+ hours I’ll never get back.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It just didn’t do it for me!

I was really surprised to my reaction or lack of For this book with the subject so emotionally packed I thought I would be so Very emotionally engaged to this book. I cry watching even romantic comedies there was something about this book that just didn’t do it for me maybe just wasn’t authentic the The teenage girl was just in a whole different level of nastiness even put a teenager the mother was very immature the father was very passive and almost too good to be true and overall it just looked like The perfect picture that someone just splashed something on so it didn’t quite work. I am not done yet and I cannot be bothered to finish it, two hours left and I gave up I just want him to die and get it over with basic writing no character development, The bad guy in this case the 14-year-old teenage girl is too bad and nasty the good guy the father is to perfect the friendships are too perfect everything is just really fake I did not like this book at all.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Balloons😡

The book is pretty good but they release balloons at a funeral at the beach.
These balloons wind up in the ocean maiming and killing our precious sea life.

Please edit this out of the Audible book immediately and any future releases of your book in the future.

This is so wrong.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

WTF!! What's with all the 5 star reviews

The story was horrible. A beloved father and partner is dying and his companions as he prepares for the journey are two of the most selfish, petty, unactualized characters I think I’ve ever listened too. He was a saint, unrealistic, and the mother daughter were just horrible. And really, if the father had been that perfect he would’ve worked to forge a better relationship. When he wants to spend his last summer alive where he grew up they actually resist and whine and complain. Seriously, this book could’ve had so much more depth to it. Instead when the man, WHO IS DYING, handles it his way by making light they get mad at him. I just can’t, just thinking about it again reminds me of the 10+ hours I’ll never get back.

Courtney Patterson, Caitlin Kelly, Tim Andres Pabon, Alison Hammer we good with the delivery of a bad story

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Yuck!

I’ve rarely disliked a character as much as I did CiCi. She was completely out of control, extremely whiny, acted as though she was “entitled”, and, needed some serious discipline. And, her father was a shrink - give me a break. In addition to CiCi, her mother was a whimp. I mean really, grow up already and act like an adult and a mother.
Other than that, there were some lovely “life reminders” and some moments of true tenderness. Therefore the very generous 3 star rating.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking

It’s hard to say you loved a book that made you cry so much, but I did!
Highly recommend reading/ listening to this lovely story.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing!

A fabulous story with emotional highs and some very low!

A must on your TBR list.

1 person found this helpful