A Fable

1 books in series
5 out of 5 stars 1 rating

The Masked Avenger Publisher's Summary

A Don Quixote for the 21st century

What is adventure? 

What is honor? 

What is loyalty? 

What is homelessness? 

What is madness?

Maddy Stevenson thought she knew something of these questions - from movies and television, growing up in sheltered Newport Beach, California. Now a new graduate from Stanford and an intern at San Francisco’s leading daily newspaper, she has a chance encounter with a homeless Black man who believes he is the Masked Avenger - the defender of those on society’s fringes, and who wrestles with demons that Maddy can only guess at. Through their quixotic adventures together, any preconceptions or illusions Maddy has about homelessness, loyalty, honor, and madness are completely shattered.

In the tradition of Charles Dickens, Wilkie Collins, P.D. James, and Armistead Maupin’s Tales of the City, Peter Alexei has woven together a dense tapestry of rich characters to create a mystery of compelling depth, surprise, warmth, and offbeat humor.

©2012 Peter Alexei Maradudin (P)2021 Peter Alexei Maradudin
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.