Alex Cross

65 books in series
4.5 out of 5 stars 65,628 ratings


Dive into the classic thriller that introduced brilliant crime-solver Alex Cross to fans, and get hooked on James Patterson’s #1 best-selling detective series.

A Washington, DC, homicide detective, Alex Cross looks like Muhammad Ali in his prime—and, on the job, he’s just as tough. He also has a secret weapon: a PhD in psychology. At home, he wears a different hat: single parent. Yes, Alex has his hands full. Add in a forbidden love affair with someone in a highly sensitive position, and things really get complicated. If that’s not enough, a sociopath has started kidnapping children and committing murders close to home. In a classic cat-and-mouse game, Alex finds himself facing a lot more than meets the eye, including powerful institutions with hidden agendas and a criminal with big ambitions.

The crime thriller that marked Alex Cross’s debut, Along Came the Spider has a special 25th Anniversary Edition, performed by actor Taye Diggs. With nearly 30 installments in the series, there are various narrators who expertly capture and maintain the pace of Alex’s investigations. Among the repeat narrators, Peter J. Fernandez has portrayed Cross on seven audiobook adaptations. Many of the books also feature a multiple-cast performance, which perfectly rounds off the series experience.

Adapted into three movies (with Morgan Freeman and then Tyler Perry in the lead role), the Alex Cross series is a worldwide best-selling phenomenon. In fact, author James Patterson holds the Guinness World Record for the most number number one New York Times best sellers! Start with Along Came a Spider, the book that started it all and was named among PBS’s “100 Great American Reads,” and then listen to the books in order to follow Cross’s development as a character while staying gripped as he takes on grisly murders and cunning killers, case after fascinating case. 

Show more Show less
Only $7.95 a month for the first 4 months of Audible Premium Plus

Calling all thrill (series) seekers