Babe in the Woods Series

2 books in series
4 out of 5 stars 5 ratings

Babe in the Woods Publisher's Summary

At age 18, in 1974, Yvonne sets out to build a home from trees on 80 acres she’d bought on an Oregon mountainside. Log by log, she creates a cabin and heals from an orphaned past, finding a new family in the forest and with people in a valley named John Day.

This true story of one woman’s survival in the wilderness puts an honest and gritty face on the fantasy of living alone in the forest. Fans of My Side of the Mountain, Wild, Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, and Walden alike will eagerly follow along on the journey through this candid, revealing account.

Babe in the Woods details the construction of this three-story log cabin built by hand from trees on land Yvonne still owns today. It is the first in a three-book series about her relationship with woodsy things in a place of risk and isolation but also peace, quiet beauty, and repose.

©2019 Yvonne Wakefield (P)2020 Yvonne Wakefield
Show more Show less
You're getting a free audiobook.

You're getting a free audiobook.

$14.95 per month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.